Skip to content
Luvrate

Review · Anal plug · Hand-blown glass

Icicles No. 47: review

Pipedreams graduated glass plug reviewed against the manufacturer’s own specifications, the archived datasheet for PD2947-00, and price data from six Swedish shops. Non-porous glass that can be used in the dishwasher and all lubricants, 9.5 centimeters insertable length and 3.5 centimeters at the widest — but neither weight, total length, nor glass type is published, and the price differs by 48 percent between the cheapest and the most expensive shop.

8.0Very good
Place 4 of 20in butt plug best

Elin Sandberg · Updated 13 September 2026 · 14 min read

My rating

The material is the product’s entire argument, and it’s a strong one: non-porous glass can be cleaned completely, tolerates all lubricants, is dishwasher-safe according to the manufacturer’s own datasheet, and doesn’t age. The shape is well made with three graduated spheres, a narrow neck, and a flared base. What you pay for is the documentation — neither weight, total length, base dimensions, nor type of glass are published, the warranty information differs between the manufacturer’s own sites, and the shops list three different diameters.

  • Hand-blown, non-porous, and hypoallergenic glass according to the manufacturer
  • Insertable length 9.5 cm, width 3.5 cm — the manufacturer’s own measurements
  • Three graduated spheres, narrow neck, and flared base
  • Dishwasher-safe and all types of lubricants
  • No electronics — no battery, no charging cable, no wear and tear
  • 215–319 SEK at six shops for the same EAN

Icicles No. 47 at a glance — this is what you get

Icicles No. 47 is an anal plug in hand-blown glass from Pipedream, and it stands out from most of the category by containing absolutely nothing. No motor, no battery, no charging cable, no app, and no modes. The only thing the product consists of is a glass mold, and that’s why a review of it comes down to exactly three things: what the glass is, what dimensions the mold has, and what the base looks like.

The manufacturer’s specifications are brief but unambiguous on the points they cover. The material is listed as glass. The color is listed as Clear. The insertable length is given as 9.5 centimeters and the width as 3.5 centimeters. The item has SKU 294700 and the article number is PD2947-00; the list price is 29.99 dollars and the packaging is listed as cardboard. In Sweden, the item is sold by six stores at prices between 215 and 319 SEK, and three of them had it in stock when the price data was collected on September 12, 2026.

This review is exclusively about the item with EAN 603912337358. The number is in the gtin field on the manufacturer’s own product page and is linked there to SKU 294700, meaning Icicles No. 47 in Clear. Two of the six Swedish stores — Vuxen and Joyme — also list the same article number, PD2947-00, which means the connection is backed up twice. It’s worth checking, since the Icicles series contains a large number of models that are numbered without a system and that several stores put on similar pages.

What do the three graduated balls do?

The manufacturer describes the shape as a tapering tip that makes insertion easier, graduated balls that provide stimulation, a narrow neck that the muscles can close around, and an ergonomically designed base that prevents the plug from going in too far while also resting comfortably. The number of balls isn’t given in numbers in the manufacturer’s text, but the manufacturer’s own product image shows three pieces in increasing size, with the smallest on top. Retailer Joyland also lists three balls in size order.

What that means in practice is that the circumference increases in steps instead of evenly. A typical conical plug has a single slope: it gets wider all the way up to its widest point and then tapers down to the neck. A graduated plug instead has multiple peaks and multiple waists, and each passage between one waist and the next peak is a separate sensation. That’s the whole function of the product, and that’s also why the measurements matter more here than in almost any other product category — there’s no setting you can use to compensate with.

What can be established is that, according to the manufacturer, the widest point is at 3.5 centimeters. That corresponds to a little over an inch, and in this series it is one of the wider measurements: the sister model No. 44 is listed as 2.5 centimeters and No. 48 as 3 centimeters. No. 47 is therefore not a beginner plug, and the manufacturer does not describe it as one either—that is precisely the wording used about No. 44.

No. 44, No. 46, No. 47, or No. 48 — which Icicles is which?

Icicles does not name its models; they number them, and the number says nothing about either size or shape. Four plugs in the series sit close to each other in the lineup and are routinely mixed up in Swedish stores. The manufacturer’s own datasheets distinguish them like this:

  • Icicles No. 44 — insertable length 6.5 cm, width 2.5 cm. A single bead, explicitly described as intended for beginners.
  • Icicles No. 46 — insertable length 8 cm, width 2.5 cm. Curved shape that the manufacturer explicitly states is for P-point stimulation, and a ring at the base instead of a plate.
  • Icicles No. 47 — the model this text is about. Insertable length 9.5 cm, width 3.5 cm, three graduated beads, and a flared base.
  • Icicles No. 48 — insertable length 7.5 cm, width 3 cm. A single bead, straight shape.

So No. 47 is both the longest and the widest of the four. The difference from No. 44 is not marginal: 9.5 versus 6.5 centimeters insertable and 3.5 versus 2.5 centimeters wide. It’s almost fifty percent more in length and forty percent more in width. So anyone reading the numbers as a scale from small to large gets it wrong—No. 48 is smaller than No. 47 despite the higher number.

Material and build quality: hand-blown glass, and what isn’t said about it

The material question is the single most important quality of an intimate product that cannot be compensated for with experience or care, and for a product that is meant to be inserted anally, it weighs more than anything else. The manufacturer lists one single material for Icicles No. 47: glass. The description adds that the glass is hypoallergenic, non-porous, body-safe, and that, with proper care, the product is designed to last a lifetime.

What non-porous glass means in practice

Non-porous is the single most important property of a material that is meant to lie against mucous membrane. A non-porous surface can be made completely clean, because there are no microscopic cavities where bodily fluids, lubricants, or bacteria can get stuck. Glass is the most non-porous material found in the category at all—more non-porous than silicone, which is non-porous but soft and can therefore be damaged mechanically, and far more non-porous than TPE, jelly rubber, and soft molded PVC.

Glass has two additional properties that matter here. It is chemically inert, which means that no lubricant affects the surface—silicone-based lubricant breaks down silicone but does absolutely nothing to glass, and that is why both Joyland and Lustly state that both water-based and silicone-based lubricants can be used. And it is dimensionally stable, so the plug’s shape is exactly the same after five years as it was in the package, provided it hasn’t been dropped.

Phthalates are a group of plasticizers used to make plastic—especially flexible PVC—pliable. The Swedish Chemicals Agency (Kemikalieinspektionen) describes them as substances that can affect the endocrine system and make reproduction more difficult, and several of them are therefore restricted or banned within the EU. In practice, the issue is irrelevant for a glass product: glass doesn’t require plasticizers to keep its shape, because the shape is created when the material is heated and then molded in as it cools. It’s correct that both Joyland and Vuxen label the article as phthalate-free, but it’s a weak sales argument—it applies to every glass product in the category.

The type of glass the manufacturer does not publish

Here comes the first real gap. Pipedream never states what type of glass Icicles No. 47 is made of. The specification says “Glass” and nothing more—neither on the product side nor in the archived datasheet for PD2947-00. This matters, because glass is not a material but a family of materials. Borosilicate glass has a low coefficient of thermal expansion and can withstand rapid temperature changes; ordinary soda-lime glass has higher expansion and is more likely to crack with a sudden temperature difference.

This is not a theoretical problem for this particular product, because the manufacturer simultaneously markets temperature play as a main function and, in its datasheet, specifies both a microwave and a freezer. Recommending a freezer and microwave without stating the type of glass is an information gap that cannot be filled from any other source.

That it’s possible to do it differently is shown by a manufacturer in the same product category. XR Brands explicitly states “borosilicate glass” for its Drops Anal Link Glass Dildo and also adds that the glass is shatter-resistant. There, the buyer knows what’s being held in their hand. With Icicles it says “glass,” and the Swedish shop wording “unbreakable glass” that Vuxen uses is not supported in the manufacturer’s material at all—there is no manufacturer statement that supports the glass being unbreakable, and it should be read as the shop’s own wording.

Measurements: 9.5 cm insertable and 3.5 cm wide—and the numbers that don’t add up

The manufacturer publishes two measurements and only two: insertion length 9.5 centimeters (3.75 inches) and width 3.5 centimeters (1.25 inches). These are the figures that apply. Total length, weight, base dimensions, and circumference are not published by the manufacturer, either on the current product page or in the archived datasheet.

The shops fill the gap, but they fill it with different numbers—and that in itself is a find worth reporting. The retailer Joyland states total length 10.5 centimeters, insertion length 9.5 centimeters, and diameter 3 centimeters. The retailer Vuxen states total length 10.7 centimeters, insertion length 9.1 centimeters, diameter 3.7 centimeters, and circumference 11.7 centimeters—and the same shop also writes in its own bullet list higher up on the page “Insertion length approx. 9 cm” and “Length 11 cm”, meaning two sets of numbers on one and the same page.

Taken together, it looks like this. If the insertion length is, in practice, the same as the manufacturer’s—9.5 centimeters at Joyland versus 9.1 at Vuxen—that is within half a centimeter of the manufacturer’s 9.5. If the width is, it isn’t: the manufacturer’s 3.5 centimeters lies between Joyland’s 3 and Vuxen’s 3.7. The difference between 3 and 3.7 centimeters is roughly twenty percent in diameter, and in this product category it is a significant difference. When a shop contradicts the manufacturer, go by the manufacturer: count on 3.5 centimeters as the widest point.

One listing differs so greatly that it should be ignored entirely. The retailer Joyme states insertion length 14.5 centimeters, that is, more than five centimeters longer than the manufacturer’s own figure for the same article number. The same shop page also features a pink, heart-shaped glass plug that is not Icicles No. 47 at all. The shop gives the correct article number PD2947-00 and the correct diameter 3.5 centimeters, but both the picture and the length measurement belong to another product.

Weight is the only piece of information where a shop adds something the manufacturer does not publish. The manufacturer publishes no weight. The retailer Joyme states 213 grams, and at the same time the dimensions 60 × 100 × 150 millimeters—measurements that are significantly larger than the product and that reasonably refer to the shipping carton rather than the plug. Treat 213 grams as a shipping weight until a manufacturer specification exists, not as the product’s weight in hand.

What you can say generally, though, is that massive glass is heavy relative to its volume, and that the weight is part of the point. SexleksakerOutlet puts it like this in its own text: the glass gives the plug “a good weight and the feeling of being properly filled out.” It’s a shop formulation and not a measurement, but it describes a trait that follows directly from the material choice—glass weighs more than silicone at the same volume, and a plug that sits in place is therefore more noticeable.

How to use an anal plug made of glass—and what the shape requires

There are no buttons to describe here, and therefore usage is exclusively about shape, lubricant, and temperature. The manufacturer’s own instruction is short: use plenty of lubricant, insert the tapered tip first, and let the graduated balls pass one at a time. The Swedish product text that is repeated by several stores repeats the same thing with the addition that some variation may occur, because each specimen is hand-blown.

That the specimens vary is worth noting in itself. Hand-blown glass means the shape is not molded in a mold but blown by hand, and the manufacturer itself writes that each piece is unique. That means the measurements 9.5 and 3.5 centimeters should be read as nominal measurements for the model, not as tolerances for the individual piece that lies in the box. The manufacturer does not say how much variation there is in millimeters.

The base: the safety requirement that determines everything else

On an anal product, the base is not a detail but the entire safety construction. The anal canal lacks the natural stop that the shaft has, and a product without sufficient base can be pulled in completely. It is the only feature in this category that cannot be negotiated about, and that is why it weighs the most in the score.

Icicles No. 47 has a flared base that the manufacturer describes as ergonomically designed to prevent the plug from sliding in too far while still sitting comfortably. The manufacturer’s own product image shows that the base is wider than the widest ball and two-part, meaning it is shaped with two protrusions instead of a round plate. Adults classify the base type as “Flared,” and Joyland describes it as both a safety stop and a handle.

What can be established, then, is that the base is there and is wider than the shaft, both according to the manufacturer’s description and according to the manufacturer’s own image. What the manufacturer does not publish is the base’s measurements—neither width, thickness, nor outer diameter. That is the piece of information I would most like to have, because it is precisely the base width in relation to the neck that determines how safe the design is, and because it is a measurement that is easy to measure and cheap to publish.

The neck, on the other hand, is well described. The manufacturer specifies a narrow neck that the muscles can close around, which is the construction that makes a plug stay in place without being held there. The combination of a narrow neck and a wide base is the classic plug shape, and it is correctly made here—but without base measurements, the construction cannot score full points in this review.

Which lubricant works with Icicles No. 47?

All kinds. That’s one of the real advantages of glass, and it’s worth understanding why. A silicone-based lubricant breaks down silicone surfaces over time and makes them porous, and that’s why the advice for silicone products is always to stick to water-based. Glass is chemically inert and isn’t affected: neither water-based, silicone-based, nor hybrid lubricants do anything to the surface.

Joyland states in its specification “Water- or silicone-based” as the recommended lubricant, and Lustly writes that the plug can be used with either silicone- or water-based lubricant. Both are store statements, but they are consistent with the material’s chemistry and with what XR Brands writes about its own glass product: compatible with all types of lubricants.

A practical tip that applies regardless of type: anal use requires more lubricant than you’d think, and significantly more than vaginal use, because the rectum doesn’t produce anything of its own. Glass’s smooth surface doesn’t do anything for friction on its own—it’s smooth, not self-lubricating. The manufacturer’s Swedish product text is blunt about it that you should use plenty of lubricant, and that advice is the only one in the entire text that’s completely without caveats.

Temperature play: microwave, freezer, and the limits that are missing

Temperature play is what sells glass plugs, and Icicles markets it openly. The current product page phrases it cautiously: keep the rod under warm running water to warm it up, or cool it under cold running water for a cool sensation. The manufacturer’s archived datasheet for PD2947-00 goes further and states that the plug can be warmed under warm water or in the microwave, and cooled under cold water or in the freezer. The same wording is printed on the back of the packaging, as shown by the manufacturer’s own packaging image.

Two things have to be said plainly here. First, the manufacturer thus expressly allows both microwave and freezer for this product—this is not an assumption from a store, but an instruction in the manufacturer’s own material. Second, the manufacturer does not state any temperature limit in degrees, no time in the microwave, and no time in the freezer, nor does it specify which type of glass makes the instruction defensible.

Practically, this means that the water method is the only one you can follow without guessing. A container with warm tap water or cold water gives a temperature that cannot exceed the water’s own, and your body’s tolerance therefore becomes the natural limit. Microwave and freezer are instructions without numbers, and an instruction without numbers can’t be followed safely. Always check the temperature against the inside of your wrist before using the product, regardless of method—glass conducts heat quickly and therefore feels warmer or cooler than you’d expect.

Cleaning, dishwasher, and storage

Cleaning is the area where glass is superior across the entire category, and the manufacturer is unusually clear. The product page states that cleaning uses an antibacterial toy cleaning detergent and warm water. The archived datasheet adds the rationale and an alternative: since glass is non-porous, cleaning is easy, and the plug can either be washed with Pipedream Toy Cleaner and warm water or put in the dishwasher.

The dishwasher-related information is important, because it involves a cleaning level that no silicone products with electronics come anywhere near. The retailer Joyme also states that the product is dishwasher-safe, and it’s a store claim that—once in a while—has direct backing in the manufacturer’s own datasheet. The product’s lack of electronics, battery, and glued seams is the full explanation: there is no seam where water can seep in, and no component that can withstand less than the glass itself.

Water resistance in a formal sense—meaning an IP-type ingress protection rating—is not published by the manufacturer, and in practice cannot be published, because ingress protection classes apply to electrical equipment and this product is not. Joyland and Vuxen both label the item “Waterproof: Yes” in their specification tables. Formally, it’s not an IP rating but a store label, but the meaning is correct: a solid glass body without electronics can be rinsed however you like.

Storage is the only point where glass requires more care than silicone. Put the plug somewhere it can’t fall onto a hard floor and where it isn’t lying loose against other hard objects. A bag or a box is enough. Also check the surface against the light before each use: a chip or a crack in the glass is the only defect that makes the product unusable, and it’s easy to spot but easy to miss if you don’t look.

Durability: what happens when glass is dropped

The manufacturer writes that, with proper care, the product is designed to last a lifetime, and for the material that’s true. Glass doesn’t age, doesn’t yellow, doesn’t become sticky, and doesn’t lose its shape. There is no battery that loses capacity, no motor that wears out, and no charging cable that breaks—which is the most common reason an electrical product in this category becomes unusable long before its time.

The counterargument is just as straightforward and just as tangible. Glass breaks when it’s dropped, and it breaks suddenly instead of gradually. Pipedream publishes no drop test, no type of glass, and no information about shatter resistance for Icicles No. 47. The difference compared to a manufacturer that does it is concrete: XR Brands specifies both borosilicate glass and “shatter-resistant glass” for its corresponding product. As mentioned, the Swedish wording for “unbreakable glass” has no equivalent in the manufacturer’s materials, and should be read as store copy rather than as a property.

The conclusion is that the lifespan of a glass plug is binary. It’s either intact — and then it’s exactly as good as when it was newly purchased, regardless of how many years have passed — or it’s damaged, and then it should be discarded immediately. There is no middle position where a chipped glass product is “the most intact.” It’s a simpler calculation than for a rechargeable product, but it requires that you actually look at the surface at regular intervals.

Where can you buy it — and what does it cost?

We do not have price data from shops in your market yet.

  1. LovehoneySearch Lovehoney
  2. BabelandSearch Babeland
The manufacturer specifies both a microwave and a freezer — but it states neither a temperature limit, a time limit, nor what type of glass the product is made of.
Pipedreams product sheet for PD2947-00

Pros

  • Non-porous glass can be cleaned completely — the best hygiene choice in the category
  • Dishwasher-safe according to the manufacturer’s own datasheet for PD2947-00
  • Compatible with all lubricants, including silicone-based — glass is chemically inert
  • Three graduated balls provide several passages instead of a smooth cone
  • Flared base wider than the shaft, and a narrow neck that the muscles can close around
  • No motor, no battery, and no charging cable that may stop working
  • From 215 SEK — cheaper than Icicles No. 44 and No. 46 at the same store

Cons

  • The manufacturer does not publish weight, total length, circumference, or the base’s dimensions
  • The glass type is only listed as “glass” — never borosilicate, even though a microwave oven and freezer are specified
  • No temperature limit in degrees is stated and no time is given for heating or cooling
  • The shops contradict each other about the diameter: 3, 3.5, or 3.7 cm depending on the side
  • Joyme states an insertable length of 14.5 cm and shows a completely different product in the picture
  • Three manufacturer sources provide three different warranty statements: 1 year, 1 year, and 90 days
  • Warranty terms require registration in advance and proof of purchase from an authorized retailer
  • Glass breaks suddenly if dropped, and no shatter-resistance rating is provided
  • No storage case is included — the hanging cardboard package contains only the plug
  • Only three out of six shops had it in stock at the price check

The rating in detail: five criteria, the same for the entire category

8.0Very good
Materials and hygiene
9,6
Non-porous glass that is dishwasher-safe and compatible with all lubricants, and that cannot chemically age.
Base and safety
7,6
An outward-flared base wider than the shaft and a narrow neck, but the base measurement is missing, and the glass can crack.
Dimensions and fit
8,4
9.5 cm insertable and Ø 3.5 cm at its widest, with three graduated balls as in the published progression.
Function and adjustability
5,6
Three balls create multiple passages, and the glass can handle both a microwave and a freezer for temperature play.
Price versus performance
9,0
From 215 SEK — cheaper than both No. 44 and No. 46, without electronics that can stop working.

Icicles No. 47 compared with the alternatives

Four comparisons are relevant: three within the same product line, where the manufacturer publishes comparable measurements, and one against another brand in the same product class that documents more than Pipedream does. All the measurement details below come from the respective manufacturer’s own datasheets, and all Swedish prices come from the retailers’ product listings on September 12, 2026.

Against Icicles No. 44 — the beginner version of the same idea

Icicles No. 44 is stated by the manufacturer as insertable length 6.5 centimeters and width 2.5 centimeters, and is explicitly described as intended for beginners. The shape is essentially the same — tapered tip, a ball, a narrow neck, ergonomic base — but with a single ball instead of three graduated ones.

The difference in dimensions is the deciding factor. No. 47 is 9.5 centimeters insertable versus 6.5, i.e. three centimeters longer, and 3.5 centimeters wide versus 2.5, i.e. a full centimeter wider. One centimeter in diameter sounds like a little, but it corresponds to just over three centimeters in circumference, and that’s the order of magnitude in which the difference between comfortable and too much lies. Blush Me lists No. 44 at 219 SEK versus No. 47’s 215 SEK, so in practice the price is the same.

The conclusion is straightforward: the price tag doesn’t provide guidance here; the measurements do. If you haven’t used an anal plug before, No. 44 is the model the manufacturer itself points out, and No. 47 is a step further into the line rather than a better buy.

Against Icicles No. 46 — curved for the P-point

Icicles No. 46 is stated as insertable length 8 centimeters and width 2.5 centimeters. What distinguishes it from No. 47 isn’t the size primarily but the shape: the manufacturer describes No. 46 as curved for P-point stimulation, and the base is a ring instead of a flared plate.

They are two different products for two different purposes. No. 47 is straight with graduated balls, meaning it’s built to be noticeable with every movement and to stay in place. No. 46 is curved and targeted, meaning it’s built to hit a specific spot. The ring base on No. 46 is also easier to grip than a plate, which matters if the product is meant to be moved back and forth rather than left in place. Blush Me lists No. 46 for 239 SEK.

If you want prostate stimulation, No. 46 is the model the manufacturer points out—not No. 47—Pipedream doesn’t mention the P-point at all in the description of No. 47. If you want a plug that stays put and feels clearly present in the passages, it’s the opposite.

Against Icicles No. 48 — same length class, a single ball

Icicles No. 48 is specified for an insertable length of 7.5 centimeters and a width of 3 centimeters. So it’s closest to No. 47 in size of all four, but it has a single ball instead of three graduated ones and a straight shape.

That makes the comparison unusually clean: almost the same measurements, completely different profile. One ball gives one passage and then an even presence. Three graduated balls give three passages and a more varied feel with every movement. It’s a matter of taste, not quality, and it’s also the only place in this comparison where you’re actually choosing a function rather than a size.

Against XR Brands Drops Anal Link Glass Dildo — what a manufacturer can choose to publish

This comparison is less about the product and more about the documentation. For its Drops Anal Link Glass Dildo, XR Brands states that the item number is AF504, that the material is borosilicate glass and shatter-resistant, that the product has five links, that the total length is 11 inches, the insertable length is 10.5 inches, and the diameter is 2 inches, and that it’s compatible with all lube types. The list price is given as $70.94.

The product is significantly larger than Icicles No. 47 and is a different kind of item—an anal rod with five links rather than a plug with a base. But it shows that, in exactly the same product class, in the same price segment, and with the same marketing arguments, a manufacturer chooses to publish three details Pipedream leaves out: the type of glass, the shatter resistance, and the total length.

That’s the decisive objection to Icicles No. 47 as an item to compare. The shape is well described, the two measurements that are published are unambiguous, and the material’s basic properties are correctly stated. But on a product marketed with a microwave and freezer, the type of glass should be included in the specification, and it isn’t.

Price range: 215 to 319 SEK, and three stores with stock

Six Swedish stores sell the item with EAN 603912337358. The lowest price is Blush Me and SexleksakerOutlet at 215 SEK each, while the highest price is Vuxen at 319 SEK. That is 104 SEK, or a 48 percent difference, for the exact same item number and the same packaging. For comparison, the manufacturer states a list price of 29,99 dollars.

The stock situation is more important here than the price spread. Only three of the six stores had the product in stock at the price check on September 12, 2026: Blush Me at 215 SEK, Joyland at 249 SEK, and Joyme at 259 SEK. The two most expensive stores, Lustly at 299 SEK and Vuxen at 319 SEK, were both sold out, as was SexleksakerOutlet, which shared the lowest price. So the difference between the cheapest available and the second-cheapest available is 34 SEK, not 104.

A detail in the pricing is worth noting. Vuxen states on its own product page that the previous lowest price during the past thirty days was 249 SEK, while the page’s current price is 319 SEK. That is the store’s own claim and a reminder that the price shown in a product feed for a sold-out item is not necessarily the price that applies when the item comes back in.

The price spread is not because any store sells a different variant. All six stores list the same item, and two of them — Vuxen and Joyme — also state the manufacturer’s own item number PD2947-00. So it is the stores’ own margin setting on an item that has been in the range for several years, and that is exactly the situation where it pays to compare before you pay. Always check the final price at checkout: in this price range, all the stores are below their own thresholds for free shipping, which means that shipping costs in practice are part of the price.

Who is Icicles No. 47 for—and who is it not for?

It’s for you if you want a material that can be cleaned completely and that does not age. Non-porous glass is the best hygiene choice in the category: it tolerates all lubricants, it can be put in the dishwasher according to the manufacturer’s own data sheet, and it has no electronics that can stop working. It’s for you if you want weight and clarity rather than softness, and you want multiple channels instead of a smooth cone—that’s exactly what three graduated balls provide.

It’s also for you if you want temperature play, with the reservation that the only method the manufacturer describes with sufficient precision to be followed is hot or cold water.

It doesn’t fit you if you’ve never used an anal plug. 3.5 centimeters at the widest point and 9.5 centimeters insertable isn’t a beginner size, and the manufacturer itself lists No. 44 for that purpose. It doesn’t fit you if you want a soft material that gives way—glass doesn’t do that, and Vuxen classifies the product as “Not bendable” and “Hard.” It doesn’t fit you if you want to aim the stimulation at the prostate, where No. 46 is the model the manufacturer describes for that purpose. And it doesn’t fit you if you require complete documentation before buying: neither weight, total length, base dimensions, nor glass type is published by the manufacturer.

One last practical thing belongs in the decision. The product is delivered according to the manufacturer’s own packaging image in a hanging cardboard display box without accessories—no storage pouch is included. Count on adding a pouch or a small box yourself, since storage is the only point where a glass product requires more care than a silicone product.

Warranty, complaints, and right of withdrawal

The warranty situation for this product is messy, and it’s the manufacturer’s own information that makes it messy. Pipedream states three different things on three different pages about the warranty for non-vibrating products. The product page for Icicles No. 47 carries the label “1-Year Warranty.” The warranty portal states that all Pipedream products that aren’t rechargeable—meaning both battery-powered and non-vibrating—qualify for a one-year warranty. The company’s FAQ says the opposite: non-vibrating and battery-powered products have a 90-day warranty, and only rechargeable products have one year.

So two out of three manufacturer sources state one year, and one states 90 days. It’s not possible to determine which one is applicable based on the pages themselves. What is clear, however, is the terms: the warranty applies from the date of purchase against mechanical faults or manufacturing defects, the product must be registered with the manufacturer before a case can be opened, and proof of purchase from an authorized retailer is required.

In practice, it matters less for a Swedish buyer than it sounds, and it’s worth stating clearly. Under konsumentköplagen, you have three years to file a complaint for defects in the goods, regardless of what the manufacturer promises—meaning at least three times as long as the longest of Pipedream’s own variants, and directed at the store you bought from instead of a manufacturer in the USA. A complaint applies to original defects in the goods—for example, a crack or a casting defect that was already present at delivery—not damage you caused yourself.

For distance purchases, you also have a right of withdrawal for fourteen days according to the law on distance contracts and contracts outside business premises (lagen om distansavtal och avtal utanför affärslokaler). Be aware that, in practice, the right of withdrawal is limited for hygiene items that have been removed from a sealed package — however, the right to complain for defects always applies. Do you have questions about what applies in your case? Konsumentverket guides you via Hallå konsument.

Specifications: dimensions, materials, construction, and purchase information

Dimensions and shape

Insertable length
9.5 cm
Manufacturer’s specification, 3.75 in. in the datasheet for PD2947-00
Width (widest point)
3.5 cm
Manufacturer’s specification, 1.25 in. in the datasheet for PD2947-00
Total length
Not published by the manufacturer
Shop information: 10,5 cm at Joyland, 10,7 cm at Vuxen
Circumference
Not published by the manufacturer
Shop information: 11,7 cm at Vuxen
Weight
Not published by the manufacturer
Store listing: 213 g at Joyme, probably including packaging
Base dimensions
Not published by the manufacturer
Base type
Outward flared, wider than the shaft
The manufacturer’s description and product image; Vuxen classifies the base type as “Outward flared”
Number of balls
Three, graded in ascending size
The number is not stated by the manufacturer but can be seen in the manufacturer’s own product image

Materials and properties

Material
Hand-blown glass
Stated by the manufacturer as hypoallergenic, non-porous, and safe for the body
Type of glass
Not published by the manufacturer
Neither borosilicate nor soda-lime glass is specified
Shatter resistance
Not published by the manufacturer
Color
Clear (transparent)
Stiffness
Hard, not flexible
Store information from Vuxen
Phthalates
None — glass does not require plasticizers
Joyland and Vuxen label the item as phthalate-free
Lubricant
All types, even silicone-based
Glass is chemically inert; Joyland specifies water- or silicone-based
Temperature play
Hot water or a microwave oven, cold water or a freezer
Manufacturer’s instructions. No temperature limit in degrees is published

Technology and care

Motor
No — fully manual product
Battery
No
Charging
No — the product has no electronics
Sound level
Not applicable — no motor
Water resistance
No IP rating published
Solid glass without electronics; Joyland and Vuxen label the item “Waterproof: Yes”
Cleaning
Toy cleaner and warm water, or dishwasher
Both methods are stated in the manufacturer’s datasheet for PD2947-00

Purchase, packaging, and warranty

EAN
603912337358
GTIN on the manufacturer’s product page
Article number
PD2947-00
SKU 294700 from the manufacturer
Packaging
Hanging card
Package Type "Box". No storage cover included
List price
29,99 USD
Manufacturer's own price
Price in Sweden
215–319 SEK
Six stores, checked 12 September 2026
Warranty
1 year or 90 days
The manufacturer’s pages contradict each other. Requires registration and proof of purchase
Right to make a complaint
3 years
According to konsumentköplagen (Swedish Consumer Sales Act), regardless of the manufacturer’s warranty

Common questions about Icicles No. 47

How big is Icicles No. 47?
The manufacturer publishes two measurements: insertable length 9.5 centimeters (3.75 inches) and width 3.5 centimeters (1.25 inches) at the widest point. Total length, weight, and circumference are not published. The shops fill the gap with different figures—Joyland lists total length 10.5 centimeters and diameter 3 centimeters, Vuxen lists total length 10.7 centimeters, diameter 3.7 centimeters, and circumference 11.7 centimeters. When a shop contradicts the manufacturer, go by the manufacturer—assume 3.5 centimeters as the widest point. Joymes's information about a 14.5-centimeter insertable length deviates so much from the manufacturer's that it should be disregarded.
What’s the difference between Icicles No. 47 and No. 44?
The size and number of balls. The manufacturer states that No. 44 has an insertable length of 6.5 centimeters and a width of 2.5 centimeters, with a single ball, and explicitly describes the model as intended for beginners. No. 47 is 9.5 centimeters insertable and 3.5 centimeters wide, with three graduated balls. So the difference is three centimeters in length and a full centimeter in diameter, which corresponds to a little over three centimeters more in circumference. In practice, the price makes no difference: Blush Me lists No. 44 at 219 SEK and No. 47 at 215 SEK.
What lubricant works with an anal plug in glass?
All types. Glass is chemically inert, which means that neither water-based, silicone-based, nor hybrid lubricants affect the surface. This is a real advantage over silicone products, where silicone-based lube breaks down the surface over time and makes it porous. Joyland lists “water- or silicone-based” as the recommendation, and Lustly writes the same thing. Use plenty—glass’s smooth surface doesn’t reduce friction on its own, and anal use requires more lubricant than vaginal use because the rectum produces no lubrication of its own.
Can Icicles No. 47 be washed in a dishwasher?
Yes, according to the manufacturer’s own product data sheet for PD2947-00. It says that because glass is non-porous, cleaning is easy, and that the plug can either be washed with Pipedream Toy Cleaner and warm water or placed in the dishwasher. The current product page only mentions the method with toy cleaning detergent and warm water. The explanation for why the product can handle the treatment is that it lacks electronics, a battery, and glued seams—there is no component that can withstand less than the glass itself.
Can you heat or cool a glass plug, and how?
The manufacturer states that both parts are included. The product page says the wand can be held under warm water to be heated or under cold water for a cool sensation. The archived datasheet and the back of the packaging go further and also specify a microwave for heating and a freezer for cooling. However, the manufacturer does not provide any temperature limit in degrees, no time, and not even which type of glass the product is made of — and the difference between borosilicate glass and regular soda-lime glass is precisely its resistance to rapid temperature changes. The water method is therefore the only one that can be followed without guessing. Always check the temperature against the inside of your wrist first.
Is Icicles No. 47 safe to use anally?
The shape fulfills the basic requirement. The manufacturer describes an outward-swept, ergonomically designed base intended to prevent the plug from going in too far, and a narrow neck that the muscles can close around. The manufacturer’s own product image shows that the base is wider than the widest ball. That is exactly the kind of construction an anal product should have, because the rectum lacks the natural stop that the sleeve has. However, the base’s measurements are not published by the manufacturer, which is the only missing piece of information needed to fully assess the design.
What kind of glass is Icicles No. 47 made of?
The manufacturer only states “glass,” never what type. Neither the product page nor the archived datasheet for PD2947-00 specifies whether it is borosilicate glass or regular soda-lime glass, and that is a real information gap for a product marketed with a microwave and a freezer. That it can be made differently is shown by XR Brands, which for its corresponding glass product lists both borosilicate glass and shatter resistance. The Swedish store wording “unbreakable glass,” which Vuxen uses, has no equivalent in the manufacturer’s materials and should be read as the store’s own text.
What warranty applies, and what happens if the glass breaks?
The manufacturer’s own pages say different things. The product page carries the label “1-Year Warranty,” the warranty portal states one year for all products that are not rechargeable, and the company’s FAQ states 90 days for non-vibrating products. Common to all variants is that the warranty applies to mechanical defects or manufacturing defects from the date of purchase, that the product must be registered with the manufacturer before a case can be opened, and that proof of purchase from an authorized retailer is required. For a Swedish buyer, the konsumentköplagen’s three-year right to complain weighs more heavily: it is directed at the store you bought it from and covers original defects in the item. Damage you caused yourself by dropping the product is not covered by either the warranty or the reklamationsrätten — and a glass product with chips or cracks should be discarded immediately.

The best-in-test product

Icicles No. 47 is ranked på plats 4 av 20 in butt plug best i test, where the entire category is compared against each other using five shared criteria. Guiden vinns av Lovense Hush 2 45 mm.

Related guides and searches

Om skribenten

Elin Sandberg Founder

I run the site myself and have reviewed 395 products since 2023. Before that, I worked for eight years as a buyer of intimate hygiene products, and that’s where the product knowledge comes from. Each review is based on the manufacturer’s own specifications, product data sheets, and price data from all the shops that sell the product — all sources are at the very bottom of the page and can be checked. I compare the models against each other based on what can actually be verified: materials, dimensions, intensity levels, water-resistance rating, warranty, and price. If you find an error, I want to know about it.
  • 395 reviewed products
  • Has been writing since 2023
  • Sourced specifications
  • Prices from 14 shops

Sources

Every numerical piece of information in the text can be traced to one of the sources below. The links were checked manually on the specified date.

  1. Product name Icicles® No. 47, gtin 603912337358, SKU 294700, the Icicles brand, the article number PD2947-00 on the product’s own labels, the material designation Glass, the color Clear, the packaging type Box, the overall width 3.5 cm (Product Overall Width), the insertable length 9.5 cm (Insertable Length), the list price 29.99 USD, the label “1-Year Warranty” in the product box, and the full product description: tapered tip, graduated balls, a narrow neck that the muscles can close around, an ergonomic base that prevents the plug from sliding in too far, hypoallergenic, non-porous, body-safe glass that is meant to last a lifetime, heating under warm water, chilling under cold water, and cleaning with antibacterial toy cleaner and warm water. The page states neither weight, total length, base dimensions, circumference, nor the type of glass: Pipedream Products — official product page, Icicles No. 47 (Clear) — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  2. The manufacturer’s complete product data sheet for article number PD2947-00: Insertable Length 3.75 in. (9.5 cm) and Width 1.25 in. (3.5 cm), as well as the additional care instructions “Run the plug under warm water or place it in the microwave to heat things up. Chill it under cold water or put it in the freezer for a cool sensation.” and “Since glass is nonporous, cleanup is a snap. Use Pipedream Toy Cleaner and warm water, or put it in the dishwasher for a worry-free wash after the fun.” The data sheet lists PD2946-20, PD2946-23, PD2948-00, PD2949-00, and PD2950-00 as the closest articles in the series: Pipedream Products — the manufacturer’s product data sheet for Icicles No. 47, PD2947-00, archived August 18, 2019 — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  3. The manufacturer’s own packaging image pd2947-00_05, where the back text repeats that the glass is hypoallergenic, non-porous and body-safe, that the shaft can be heated under warm water or in a microwave oven and cooled under cold water or in the freezer, and that the packaging is labeled No 47. The same image shows that the product is delivered in a hanging display card without any accessories: Pipedream Products — the manufacturer’s own packaging image pd2947-00_05 — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  4. The manufacturer’s own product image pd2947-00_02, which shows three graduated balls in increasing size, the narrow neck, and the flared, two-piece base against a white background: Pipedream Products — the manufacturer’s own product image pd2947-00_02 — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  5. The information that the manufacturer’s consumer warranty is 90 days for non-vibrating and battery-powered products and one year for rechargeable products, and that a valid warranty requires that the product is registered and that proof of purchase is provided. The same page states that returns of defective items are accepted within 90 days in the USA and within six months for international orders, and that the manufacturer does not sell or provide replacement charging cables: Pipedream Products — Frequently Asked Questions — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  6. The opposite statement in the manufacturer’s warranty portal: “All Pipedream non-rechargeable (battery-operated) or non-vibrating products qualify for a 1-Year Warranty”, that the warranty applies from the date of purchase for mechanical faults or manufacturing faults, that the product must be registered before a case can be opened, and that proof of purchase from an authorized retailer is required: Pipedream Products — Warranty Claim Center — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  7. Comparison data for Icicles No. 44 (PD2944-23): Insertable Length 2.5 in. (6.5 cm), Width 1 in. (2.5 cm), described as intended for beginners with a tapered tip, a ball, a narrow neck, and an ergonomic base, as well as the same instructions about microwave, freezer, and dishwasher: Pipedream Products — the manufacturer’s product datasheet for Icicles No. 44, PD2944-23, archived July 21, 2019 — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  8. Comparison data for Icicles No. 46 (PD2946-20): Insertable Length 3.25 in. (8 cm), Width 1 in. (2.5 cm), a curved shape expressly intended for P-spot stimulation and a ring at the base instead of a flared plate: Pipedream Products — the manufacturer’s product datasheet for Icicles No. 46, PD2946-20, archived August 18, 2019 — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  9. Comparison data for Icicles No. 48 (PD2948-00): Insertable Length 3 in. (7.5 cm), Width 1.25 in. (3 cm) and a single ball instead of graduated balls: Pipedream Products — the manufacturer’s product datasheet for Icicles No. 48, PD2948-00, archived August 18, 2019 — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  10. Comparison data for XR Brands Drops Anal Link Glass Dildo, item number AF504: the material is explicitly stated as borosilicate glass, shatter-resistant, five links, total length 11 in., insertable length 10.5 in., diameter 2 in., list price 70.94 USD, compatible with all types of lubes, and cleaning with mild soap and warm water — a manufacturer in the same product class that publishes both the glass assortment and total length: XR Brands — official product page, Drops Anal Link Glass Dildo — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  11. Shop info: Length 10.5 cm, Penetrating length 9.5 cm, Diameter 3 cm, Color Transparent, Material Glass, Surface Smooth, Hardness Hard, Waterproof Yes, Phthalate-free Yes, Recommended lube “Water- or silicone-based”, and the description that the plug has three balls in increasing size, with the smallest first, and that the base works both as a safety stop and a handle: Joyland — product page for Pipedream Icicles No. 47 — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  12. Shop info: Girth 11.7 cm, Total length 10.7 cm, Insertable length 9.1 cm, Diameter 3.7 cm, Elasticity “Not bendable”, Waterproof “Yes”, “Body-safe & Phthalate-free”, Base type “Flared”, Firmness “Hard”, and item number PD2947-00. The store’s own point list instead states “Insertable length approx. 9 cm” and “Length 11 cm” and calls the product “hand-blown massage wand of unbreakable glass”. The page also states the previous lowest price in the last 30 days as 249 SEK: Vuxen — product page for Icicles No. 47 — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  13. Store note: item number PD2947-00, insertable length 14.5 cm, diameter 3.5 cm, weight 213 g, dimensions 60 × 100 × 150 mm, color Transparent, the material described as hypoallergenic and phthalate-free glass, and the claim that the product is dishwasher-safe. The store’s main image shows a pink heart-shaped glass plug—so it is not the item that the item number refers to: Joyme — product page for Icicles No. 47 glass anal plug — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  14. Store note: the description “hand-blown glass,” “allergy-friendly, body-safe, and designed to last a lifetime,” and the information that the plug “can be used with silicone or water-based lubricant”: Lustly — product page for Icicles glass plug No. 47 — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  15. Store note: the description “pearl-shaped design for extra sensation,” “hand-blown & durable glass,” “wide base for safe use,” and the wording that the glass gives the plug “a good weight and the feeling of being properly filled”: SexleksakerOutlet — product page for Pipedream Icicles No.47 — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  16. Store note: the item is sold as “Pipedream Icicles No.47 glass anal plug” for 215 SEK, and the shop lists comparable glass anal plugs in the same range—Pipedream Icicles No.44 for 219 SEK, No.46 for 239 SEK, and No.79 for 259 SEK: Blush Me — product page for Pipedream Icicles No.47 — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  17. Phthalates as plasticizers, health effects, and restrictions within the EU: Kemikalieinspektionen — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  18. Three years’ right to complain for defects in the goods: Konsumentköplag (2022:260) — Sveriges riksdag — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  19. Fourteen days’ right of withdrawal for distance purchases: Lag (2005:59) om distansavtal och avtal utanför affärslokaler — Sveriges riksdag — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  20. Guidance on the right of withdrawal and the exception for sealed hygienic products: Konsumentverket — kontrollerad 12 September 2026
  21. Prices, stock status, and item numbers at six shops for EAN 603912337358. Retrieved from the shops’ own product feeds on September 12, 2026: Adtraction (channel Testkollen) and Addrevenue (channel Testra) — kontrollerad 12 September 2026

This page is machine-translated from Swedish. Read the Swedish original