Skip to content
Luvrate

Review · Masturbator · App-controlled with an air pump

Lovense Max 2: review

Lovense app-controlled masturbator reviewed against the manufacturer’s own specifications, manual, EU declaration of conformity, and price data from eight Swedish stores. Air pump with 360-degree contractions, vibration on its own button, ABS and TPE, IPX6 per IEC 60529, 95 to 215 minutes of operating time, and a one-year warranty — but only ninety days on the sleeve, and neither measurements nor sound level are published.

6.8Fair

Elin Sandberg · Updated 29 July 2026 · 16 min read

My rating

The most connected product in the comparison: air pump with 360-degree contractions and vibration on each button, plus an app ecosystem for long-distance use that no competitor in the price range matches. What you pay for is hygiene and water resistance — the TPE sleeve must not be washed with soap, it has only a ninety-day warranty, and IPX6 means the product can handle water jets but not submersion. The manufacturer also does not publish measurements, battery capacity, or sound level.

  • 360-degree contractions via an air pump with an adjustable valve
  • Vibration and contraction on each button — two independent controls
  • Lovense Remote: long-distance, Toy Sync, patterns, music, and sound
  • ABS housing and a replaceable TPE sleeve sold separately
  • IPX6 according to IEC 60529 — water jets: yes, submersion: no
  • 1,036–1,399 SEK at eight shops for the same EAN

Lovense Max 2 at a glance — here’s what you get

Lovense Max 2 is the brand’s app-controlled masturbator, and the product in the lineup that combines a vibrator with an air pump that contracts the sleeve around it. The manufacturer describes the function as 360-degree contractions: an air cushion around the sleeve is inflated and then released again, so that the pressure changes all around the circumference instead of just from one side. That function is what sets Max 2 apart from almost everything else in the category, and it’s also why the product has two buttons instead of one.

According to the manufacturer, the specification looks like this: housing in ABS plastic, sleeve in TPE, weight 750 grams, rechargeable lithium-ion battery, 100 minutes charging time, 95 to 215 minutes operating time, up to 120 hours standby, and ingress protection rating IPX6. The model designation in the EU declaration of conformity is simply Max 2; the manufacturer is Hytto Pte. Ltd. in Singapore, and the EU representative is Apex CE Specialists GmbH in Düsseldorf. In Sweden, the item is sold by eight retailers at prices between 1 036 and 1 399 SEK, and seven of them had it in stock at the price check.

This review is about the item with EAN 728360599612. The number is checked against Lovense’s own structured product data, where the entry “Lovense Max 2 App-Controlled Male Masturbator” carries that exact number in both the SKU and gtin12 fields. All eight Swedish retailers list the item under the same number, and the manufacturer lists only a single version with a single item number — so there’s no variant confusion to keep track of here, unlike many other products in the category.

What an app-controlled masturbator with an air pump actually is

A typical masturbator is a passive object: a sleeve in a casing that you move yourself. All the work comes from your hand, and the sleeve’s texture is the whole product. Lovense Max 2 belongs to a different category. Here, a motor and an air pump sit inside the casing, and both can be controlled independently of each other — the vibration with one button, the contractions with the other.

“Rent technically” means contraction in this context that an air chamber between the sleeve and the outer shell is filled and emptied. When the chamber is filled, the sleeve is pressed inward around the entire circumference; when it is emptied, it relaxes again. The manufacturer calls the effect 360-degree contractions precisely because the pressure does not come from a single point, but from the entire outer surface. It’s a different mechanism than the one a thrusting product uses, where a motor moves the sleeve back and forth along the product.

The vibration is the other half. Lovense describes it as an extended vibrator that is supposed to provide noticeable vibrations along the entire sleeve rather than just at one spot. What that means in practice is that the two functions can be used separately or together, and that the app can control both at the same time—that’s where the product’s real argument lies, and we’ll get back to that.

What you can also determine about the air pump is that it requires care. The manufacturer’s manual states that the air pump’s valve must be open when the product is used and closed when it’s cleaned. This isn’t a detail to read past: a closed valve during use means the pump is operating against a closed system, and an open valve during cleaning means water can get into the pump channel. None of the Swedish store texts mention this.

Max 2, Calor, or Solace — which Lovense is which?

Lovense has three penis products in its lineup that are often mixed up in Swedish stores, and they solve three completely different problems.

  • Max 2 — the model this text is about. Vibration plus air pump with 360-degree contractions. You do the product yourself; the motor is responsible for stimulation, not for the movement. IPX6 and 750 grams.
  • Calor — Lovense’s smaller Bluetooth model in the same family, which the manufacturer describes as deep-controlled rather than contracting. The stated values are 60 to 130 minutes of continuous use, enclosure rating IPX7, and a one-year warranty.
  • Solace — the hands-free thrust machine. The manufacturer lists ABS, 980 grams, a lithium-polymer battery, 100 minutes of charging time, up to 13 hours of operating time, IPX4, a maximum thrust rate of 280 per minute, and three levels of stroke length adjustable in increments of 0.65 millimeters. It therefore moves on its own, which Max 2 does not.

The difference that determines the choice isn’t price but principle. If you want the product to do the work for you, Solace is the only one of the three that does. If you want the most water-resistant of them, Calor is the only option with IPX7. If you want contractions around the entire circumference, there’s only Max 2.

Materials and build quality: ABS shell and TPE sleeve

The material question weighs more heavily in this product category than in almost any other, because the sleeve is the only part that comes into contact with mucous membranes and because it can’t be boiled, dish-washed, or sterilized. Lovense lists two materials for Max 2: ABS plastic in the casing and TPE in the sleeve. It’s not the same as silicone, and the difference is worth understanding before you pay over a thousand kronor.

What TPE means for hygiene

TPE stands for thermoplastic elastomer. It’s a soft, rubber-like material that’s cheaper to mold than silicone and that can be made significantly softer—which is exactly why it’s used in this type of sleeve. The downside is that TPE isn’t nonporous in the same way as platinum-hardened silicone. A porous surface has microscopic cavities where moisture and residue can remain, and that’s why a TPE sleeve is always a consumable item rather than a lifetime part.

The manufacturer’s own instructions confirm that picture in an unusually clear way. The manual states that Max 2 should be cleaned before and after each use, that the cleaning should be done with warm water, and that soap may not be used on the inner sleeve because the material can break down. It’s an instruction you won’t find on a silicone product, and it practically means that the only permitted cleaning for the surface that has been in contact with the body is water and mechanical rinsing. This places higher demands on making sure the sleeve is dried properly and replaced when it starts to look worn.

The good news is that Lovense has built the product for exactly that. The sleeve is replaceable and is sold separately by the manufacturer in two variants—Vagina Sleeve and Neutral Hole Sleeve—for 10 US dollars each versus 15 as of the control date. The sleeve included in the box is the neutral sleeve. The fact that a wear part can be bought separately for a tenth of the product’s price is a real advantage, and there are more manufacturers who should do the same.

Phthalates, REACH, and what the manufacturer doesn’t list

Phthalates are a group of plasticizers used to make plastic flexible. Kemikalieinspektionen (the Swedish Chemicals Agency) describes them as substances that can affect the hormone system and make reproduction more difficult, and several of them are therefore restricted or banned within the EU in a large number of products. The issue is especially relevant for soft plastic that lies against mucous membranes—meaning exactly the use a TPE sleeve has.

Here it’s important to be exact about what actually is stated and what isn’t. Lovense doesn’t state any explicit phthalate, BPA, or latex declaration for Max 2 on the product page or in the manual. What it does have, however, is the manufacturer’s EU declaration of conformity, which lists the REACH regulation (EC) no 1907/2006 among the legal acts the product is stated to meet, along with RoHS, RED, GPSR, the Low Voltage Directive, WEEE, and the EMC Directive.

It is not the same thing as a material declaration, but it’s also not nothing. REACH is the regulation that governs restricted substances in the EU, and a published conformity document that names it is more than most manufacturers in this price category make public. That Lovense also publishes the document openly on its regulatory page, for Max 2 and for the rest of the range, is a reasonable confirmation that the product is a regulated EU item and not a gray-market import. If you want an explicit “phthalate-free” in plain text, though, you’ll have to look in another range—Fleshlight, for example, expressly states that their SuperSkin material is phthalate-free.

Dimensions and weight: 750 grams — and the dimensions that are missing

The weight is 750 grams according to both the manufacturer’s product page and the printed manual, and the two pieces of information match. It’s an unusually heavy product for something handheld. For comparison, Lovense lists 980 grams for Solace—but Solace is designed to stand still and work on its own, and it’s also delivered with a table stand. Max 2 therefore weighs three-quarters as much as a machine that isn’t intended to be held in the hand at all.

What 750 grams means in practice is that the product isn’t made for long sessions with a straight arm. It’s made to rest against the body or against a surface, and that part of the ergonomics depends entirely on the way it’s used rather than on the grip, since the shell is a smooth cylinder with no handle or finger indentation.

This is where a clear note belongs. Lovense does not publish the product’s length, its diameter, or the insertion depth for Max 2, either on the product page, in the manual, or in the EU declaration of conformity. It’s a strange gap in a specification that is otherwise unusually comprehensive, and it’s particularly bothersome in this category, where fit is the single most important feature. The manufacturer is satisfied with the wording that the product accommodates most sizes. Figures for length and insertion depth that circulate on other sites can’t be traced back to any information from Lovense, and that’s why they aren’t included here.

The shape is easy to describe: a straight cylinder with a closed cap at one end and the sleeve opening at the other. Two buttons sit a little way down on the shell’s outer surface: the adjustable air vent and the charging port. The surface is ribbed over most of the cylinder, which provides grip when your hands are wet or have lubricant on them—and it’s a practical detail rather than an aesthetic one, since the manual expressly advises plenty of lubrication of both the sleeve, the opening, and the body before use.

Two buttons, an air vent, and a quick-release

The interface on the Lovense Max 2 is stripped down compared with the app. The manufacturer’s manual names each element: button A turns the product on and off when it’s held in for three seconds and steps between vibrations with a short press; button B steps between contractions with a short press; and in between sits an indicator light. On the casing there are also three things that are not buttons: a Quick Air Release, an adjustable air vent, and the air pump’s own valve.

It’s an interface designed so it can be used without you seeing it, which is reasonable given how the product is held. The downside is that the only feedback is an LED—there’s no display and no numeric indication of which step is active. If you want to know exactly where you are, you have to use the app.

How the 360-degree contractions work

The contractions are the product’s signature feature, and the manufacturer’s own description is more straightforward than the texts in stores: an air pump mimics adjustable contractions all the way around the circumference. Button B steps between the modes. How many modes it involves is not stated—Lovense publishes no number either for the vibration steps or for the contraction steps, either on the product page or in the manual, which consistently talks about “stepping between” them without listing them. This is by far the biggest gap in an otherwise well-written documentation.

What can, however, be established is that contraction and vibration are two independent controls with their own buttons. You can therefore run high vibration with a light contraction—or vice versa—and it’s two completely different settings. It’s the same principle that makes a comparison based on “number of programs” misleading: Max 2 doesn’t have one mode scale but two that are multiplied with each other.

A feature of the air chamber is worth highlighting because the manufacturer itself does. The manual states that the air cushion, over time, conforms to how it’s been used, and that a certain amount of stretching is normal and doesn’t affect function. Translated: the construction is intended to change somewhat over time. It’s honest of the manufacturer to print that out, but it’s also a reminder that an air-pump product has more movable and moldable parts than a passive sleeve—and therefore more things that can change character after half a year.

The air valve and Quick Air Release—the function that saves the session

Two of the three air-related details on the casing are pure comfort functions. The adjustable air vent controls suction strength: if you open it, air is let in and suction decreases; if you close it, suction increases. Quick Air Release is a quick-release solution which, according to the manual, should be pressed in when the product feels too tight.

It sounds trivial until you think about why it’s needed. A sealed air chamber around an inserted body is a system where the pressure can become uncomfortably high, and without a way out there’s no quick fix. The fact that the manufacturer has built in a dedicated release button and written in the manual exactly when it should be used—at excessively high pressure or discomfort—is a genuine safety feature. It’s also one of the few places where the manual adds something that no shop text mentions.

The third detail is the air pump’s own valve, and it works the opposite of what you’d guess. It should be open during use and closed during cleaning. The manual repeats the instruction in three places in the English section—within the itemized list, in the cleaning section, and in the warning box—which says something about how often it’s missed. If you forget to close it during cleaning, you risk getting water where it doesn’t belong, even though the product is rated IPX6.

How many vibration modes does the Lovense Max 2 have?

The shortest possible honest answer: the manufacturer doesn’t state it. The manual describes button A as a button that steps up through the vibrations, and button B as a button that steps through the contractions, but neither of them includes a number. The product page doesn’t either.

What Lovense instead emphasizes is that the number of modes on the product isn’t the interesting figure, because the app replaces them anyway. In Lovense Remote, the vibration patterns are stated to be unlimited, and the intensity is set in a continuous way rather than in steps. That’s a reasonable argument for someone who plans to use the app. For someone who wants to be able to use the product without a phone, though, it’s a real documentation shortcoming: you don’t know how many steps you have to step through until you’re standing there with the product in your hand.

Lovense Remote: the app is half the product

You can use Max 2 as a standalone product, but that’s not how it’s designed. Lovense’s whole business concept is based on the app, and Max 2 is one of the models where the difference between with and without the app is greatest—because two motors have to be controlled at the same time and the product only has two buttons.

The manufacturer lists the functions: in-app control, long-distance control, long-distance synchronization, unlimited vibration patterns, synchronization to music, and sound-activated vibrations. On top of that, there’s the ability to create, share, and use patterns that other users have made, and to let the product react to content in video and games that support the Lovense ecosystem.

Long-distance, Toy Sync, and content control

The function that most often is the whole reason for buying is called Toy Sync. Lovense states that Max 2 can be synchronized with a Nora, a Calor, or an additional Max 2, and that the products then react to each other’s movements regardless of distance. In practice, that means that movements in one product are translated into stimulation in the other, in real time and over the internet.

It’s a technology that’s hard to compare on paper, because no manufacturer publishes latency figures. What can be established is that Lovense has built the broadest ecosystem of any manufacturer in the category: the same app controls the entire range, the same account is used for long-distance control, and the manufacturer sells bundles where Max 2 is combined with Nora or Edge 2 specifically for that purpose. Competitors in this price range have nothing comparable.

Content synchronization is the other half. Lovense states that vibrations and contractions can follow the action in compatible video, VR content, and games. Here you should be sober about what that means: the function requires that the content is made for the Lovense ecosystem, and it doesn’t work with arbitrary video. It’s a feature with a narrower use case than the marketing suggests, but it exists and it’s documented by the manufacturer.

Which phones and computers work with Lovense Max 2?

The manufacturer is unusually specific here, and the requirements are worth checking before you buy. Lovense states that Lovense Remote works with iPhone, iPad Air, iPad Mini, and iPod Touch with iOS 14.2 or later, with Android 5.0 or later with Bluetooth 4.0 turned on, with Mac with Bluetooth 4.0 — and that a Windows computer requires a Lovense USB Bluetooth Adapter in order to be able to connect.

The last point is the one that costs money. So a Windows computer can’t control the product with its built-in Bluetooth without the manufacturer’s own adapter, which is sold separately. For anyone who plans to use Max 2 with games or content on a PC, it’s a hidden cost that doesn’t show up in any Swedish shop text.

On the radio side, you can be precise, for once. The manufacturer’s EU declaration of conformity states the frequency band 2402–2480 MHz and a maximum RF output power of 5.99 dBm. So it’s standard Bluetooth in the 2.4-gigahertz band with low transmit power, and the range should be understood as range within a room — long-distance control works over the internet via the phone, not via Bluetooth.

Sound level: what Lovense says and what they don’t say

Sound level is one of the most common questions about this product type, because an air pump sounds different than a vibration motor. The answer has to be honest: Lovense does not publish any measured decibel value for Max 2, either on the product page, in the manual, or in the EU declaration of conformity. The product page also does not contain any statement that the model is quiet or discreet—which in itself is information: a manufacturer that uses a quietness argument usually relies on it.

What can be established purely from a technical standpoint is that the product has two sound sources instead of one. The vibration motor provides a continuous sound, and the air pump provides a pulsing sound—pumps are inherently audible because they move air. That a product with an air pump would be quieter than a product without one is not likely, but since no measurement is published, it stays at a technical expectation rather than a value.

Websites that list an exact decibel level for Max 2 either show their own measurement or a value without a source. A practical piece of advice that applies regardless of model: do not place the product on a hard tabletop during use, because the tabletop acts as a resonance box and noticeably amplifies both the motor and pump sound.

IPX6: what it means — and what it doesn’t mean

Lovense Max 2 is rated IPX6, and the rating is not only shown on the product page but also in the manufacturer’s EU declaration of conformity, with reference to the IEC 60529 standard. Having an enclosure rating included in a conformity document rather than only in marketing copy is unusual, and it means the information is formally declared.

The number 6 in the second position means protection against powerful jets of water from all directions. The manufacturer’s own wording on the product page is that Max 2 can handle powerful water sprays, and that is exactly the right way to describe it. IPX6, however, does not mean that the product can be submerged in water. That step requires IPX7, which according to the same standard corresponds to submersion for one meter for 30 minutes. The difference is real and it affects everyday life: Max 2 can be rinsed under the tap, but it does not belong in the bathtub.

This is also where the most interesting internal comparison within the Lovense lineup can be found. Calor, the smaller model in the same family, is rated IPX7 by the same manufacturer. So anyone who prioritizes water resistance over contractions is essentially buying the wrong product if they buy Max 2—and that trade-off is not shown in any store text.

Cleaning, lubricant, and storage

The manufacturer’s routine is brief and needs to be followed exactly. Clean the product before and after every use. Use warm water. Do not use soap on the inner sleeve, because the material can break down. Make sure the air pump’s valve is closed before you start rinsing. Then dry the product thoroughly before putting it away or turning it on again—the manual is explicit that it must be dry before it’s started.

Lubricant is mandatory rather than optional for this product. The manual states that a generous amount of lubricant should be applied inside the sleeve, at the opening, and on the body before use. Use water-based lubricant. Silicone-based lubricant doesn’t belong on a soft elastomer, and oil-based products such as coconut oil leave a film that’s difficult to remove from a porous surface—and a surface that can’t be cleaned is a surface that must be replaced.

The manual also covers three things that rarely appear in store texts. The product must be kept away from extreme heat and cold. It must not be used while it’s charging. And it should be charged at least once every six months even if it isn’t used, which is the standard advice for lithium-ion cells that otherwise would deep-discharge during storage. The storage bag that, according to the manual, is included in the box is the right place between uses—not a box where the sleeve is pressed together.

Battery and charging: 95 to 215 minutes

Lovense lists the operating time as 95 to 215 minutes, the charging time as 100 minutes, and the standby time as up to 120 hours. The battery is lithium-ion type and rechargeable.

The 95 to 215-minute range is more informative than it looks. Most manufacturers only give the upper number, and it always applies to the lowest power output. The fact that Lovense publishes both ends means you can count on around an hour and a half when both the vibration and the air pump are running at full power, and a little over three and a half hours in the gentlest setting. The manual lists only the upper number, up to 215 minutes, while the product page lists the entire range—so the product page is the better source here.

Standby time of 120 hours, meaning five days, deserves a note that isn’t negative but is easy to miss. Five days is short. A product that has sat unused for a week is likely to be empty the next time you take it out, and together with the advice to charge at least every six months, that means Max 2 is best charged when you plan to use it rather than left fully charged in a box.

How do you charge the Lovense Max 2?

The manual is simple: turn off the product, connect the cable to any USB port or USB power adapter, and charging starts. The fixed red light turns off when the battery is full. The product must not be used while charging.

Here there is a documentation conflict worth knowing about. The specification table states the charge time as 100 minutes, but the body text in the same manual states about two hours. The product page lists 100 minutes. The difference is just under twenty minutes and has no practical significance, but it is an example of why you should read a specification against several of the manufacturer’s own documents before putting a number down as a fact.

The cable is what deserves the most attention. Lovense sells the charging cable as a separate accessory, and the manufacturer’s own product description states that the same cable fits Max 2 and roughly thirty additional Lovense models — including Nora, Edge 2, Lush 4, Domi 2, and Calor. That means two things in practice. One is that a regular USB-C cable doesn’t replace it: the end that meets the product is Lovense’s own. The other is that someone who already owns a Lovense product probably has a spare cable at home, which is a real advantage for someone buying multiple products within the same ecosystem.

The capacity that isn’t published

Lovense does not publish the battery’s capacity in mAh or its voltage for Max 2, either on the product page, in the manual, or in the EU declaration of conformity. What is provided is battery type, operating time, charging time, and standby time. Without the capacity, you can’t convert operating time into power consumption, and you can’t compare how heavily the cell is loaded between models.

The general rule still applies, though. The capacity of a lithium-ion cell decreases with the number of charge cycles, and the manufacturer does not state anywhere that the battery is replaceable. With use a couple of times a week, it’s the battery — not the casing, which can be bought new — that eventually sets the limit for the product’s lifespan. The advice in the manual to charge at least once every half year is the single cheapest way to push that limit forward.

Where can you buy it — and what does it cost?

We do not have price data from shops in your market yet.

  1. LovehoneySearch Lovehoney
  2. BabelandSearch Babeland
The manufacturer states that soap may not be used on the inner sleeve. It’s an instruction that no silicone product needs—and it says more about the material than any marketing text.
Lovense manual for Max 2, checked 29 July 2026

Pros

  • 360-degree contractions via an air pump, with an adjustable valve and quick-release
  • Two independent controls: vibration with one button, contraction with another
  • Lovense Remote provides long-distance control, patterns, music and sound control
  • Toy Sync: movements can control a Nora, a Calor, or an additional Max 2
  • The sleeve is replaceable and is sold separately by the manufacturer in two variants
  • EU declaration of conformity published publicly, with RoHS, RED, REACH and IPX6

Cons

  • According to the manufacturer, the TPE sleeve is porous and must not be washed with soap
  • The sleeve has only a 90-day warranty—everything else has a one-year warranty
  • IPX6, not IPX7: it can handle water jets but must not be submerged
  • The manufacturer does not publish any measurements, insertion depth, battery capacity, or sound level
  • The number of vibration and contraction modes is nowhere stated by the manufacturer
  • 750 grams and no grippy area — it’s heavy to hold for longer sessions
  • The warranty is personal and does not apply if the product changes owners

Rating in detail: five criteria, the same for the entire category

6.8Fair
Materials and hygiene
5,8
The TPE sleeve is porous and must not be washed with soap, but it is replaceable and sold separately.
Cleaning and water resistance
5,6
IPX6 according to IEC 60529: it can handle powerful water jets but not immersion, and the valve must be closed.
Design and durability
6,8
95–215 minutes of operation on a 100-minute charge and 120 hours of standby. Capacity is not published.
Function and controls
9,0
Lovense Remote with long-distance control, Toy Sync with Nora and Calor, patterns as well as music- and content-sync.
Price vs. performance
6,6
From 1 095 SEK. Calor costs the same amount and is IPX7; Solace Pro costs 343 SEK more and is hands-free.

Lovense Max 2 compared with the alternatives

Three comparisons are relevant: against the smaller model in the same family, against Lovense’s own hands-free device, and against the manual classic that costs a quarter of the price. All of the information below comes from the respective manufacturers’ own specifications, and all prices come from the shops’ product feeds on July 29, 2026.

Against Lovense Calor — same price, different priorities

Lovense Calor costs from 1,095 SEK, so exactly the same amount as Max 2 costs at the cheapest shop that had it in stock. The fact that two products from the same manufacturer end up with the same price tag makes the comparison above unusually straightforward: this isn’t about money, but about what you want.

Calor is rated IPX7, which according to IEC 60529 means immersion to a depth of one meter for 30 minutes. Max 2 is rated IPX6, so it’s protected against powerful water jets but not immersion. Calor is stated to support 60 to 130 minutes of continuous use, while Max 2 supports 95 to 215 minutes, and both have a one-year warranty. The items in the package are, in practice, the same: the product, a USB charging cable, and a manual.

What Max 2 adds is the air pump with 360-degree contraction movements and the Toy Sync connection to Nora and Calor. What Calor adds is water resistance and a significantly smaller body. The conclusion is simple: if you want to be able to clean the product without having to think about water, Calor is the right choice at the same price. If you want the contractions, there’s only Max 2.

Against Lovense Solace — 200 SEK to avoid having to do the work

Lovense Solace costs from 1,295 SEK, i.e., 200 SEK more than Max 2 at the cheapest store with stock. For that money, you switch product category rather than model.

Solace is a hands-free impact massager. The manufacturer lists ABS material, 980 grams, a lithium polymer battery, a 100-minute charging time, up to 13 hours of run time, an enclosure rating IPX4, a maximum striking rate of 280 strikes per minute, and three levels of strike length that change in steps of 0.65 millimeters. A tabletop stand is included in the box. The warranty is one year, and the sleeve, just like with Max 2, has 90 days.

The differences that actually matter: Solace moves on its own, and Max 2 does not. Solace has more than three times the run time—13 hours versus 215 minutes—but worse water resistance, IPX4 versus IPX6. Solace weighs 230 grams more but doesn’t need to be held. Max 2, on the other hand, has contractions around the entire circumference, which Solace doesn’t, and Toy Sync with the partner’s product.

If you’re choosing based on hands-free use and run time, Solace clearly wins. If you’re choosing based on type of stimulation and interaction with a partner, Max 2 wins. In this case, the price difference of 200 SEK isn’t what should decide.

Against Fleshlight Flight Pilot — 666 SEK difference

Fleshlight Flight Pilot costs from 429 SEK. Max 2 costs 1,095 SEK at the cheapest in-stock store, i.e., 666 SEK more—two and a half times the price. That’s the comparison that determines whether you should buy a motorized product at all.

Flight Pilot has no motor, no battery, no app, and no air pump. Fleshlight states up to seven inches in length and five and a half inches in circumference, as well as its patented SuperSkin material, which the manufacturer explicitly states is phthalate-free—a declaration that Lovense does not make for the TPE sleeve in Max 2. You can rinse it however you want because there’s no electronics in it, and it can’t break in the way a pump or a battery can.

Are you unsure whether the product type will work for you? Flight Pilot is a hard-to-beat way to find out for under five hundred kronor. If you already know that it works, and you want vibration, contractions, app control, and the option to connect the product with a partner in another location, the price difference is justified—but it should be a conscious choice, not an assumption that more expensive is better. It also needs to be said plainly that Max 2 requires more maintenance: charging, a vent that has to be positioned correctly, and cleaning where soap is forbidden on the most important surface.

Price range: 1,036 to 1,399 SEK and seven stores with stock

Eight Swedish stores sell the item with EAN 728360599612. The cheapest in the feed is Vuxen at 1,036 SEK, and the most expensive is Lustly at 1,399 SEK. That’s 363 SEK, or a 35 percent difference, for the exact same item number and the same packaging.

However, the inventory situation changes the picture. Vuxen, which had the lowest price, had the product sold out at the price check. The cheapest among the seven stores that actually had it in stock was Joyland at 1,095 SEK, followed by Vuxenkul at 1,269 SEK, and then Lekosmek and Taboo at 1,289 SEK each. Counted only on what was actually possible to buy, the spread is 304 SEK, or 28 percent—not 363 SEK.

A store listing a lower price for an item that’s sold out is common and rarely malicious—the feed simply doesn’t update completely until the item comes back in, and the price that remains displayed is rarely what you pay when it does. So always check both the stock status and the final price at checkout before you base anything on the lowest figure in a price comparison.

One last measure of the price picture: Lovense’s own web store listed Max 2 at 99 US dollars, versus the regular 199 US dollars on the check date. That the manufacturer itself sells the product at half its own list price is information in itself, and it’s reasonably part of the explanation for why the spread between Swedish stores is so large: stores that bought in under older terms stay higher than those that bought in later.

Who is Lovense Max 2 for—and who isn’t?

It’s for you if you want two independent stimulation types in the same product and if you actually plan to use the app. It’s for you if you’re in a long-distance relationship, because Toy Sync with a Nora, a Calor, or another Max 2 is the function that no competitor in the same price range matches. It’s for you if you already own other Lovense products, both because the app is the same and because the charging cable fits across the range. And it’s for you if you see the casing as a consumable and think it’s reasonable to be able to buy a new one for a tenth of the product’s price.

It doesn’t fit you if you want to be able to submerge the product in water—then Calor from the same manufacturer is the right choice for the same price. It doesn’t fit you if you want a hands-free product that moves by itself; that’s what Solace does. It doesn’t fit you if you require published dimensions, insertion depth, battery capacity, or sound level before buying, because Lovense doesn’t publish any of that for this model. And it doesn’t fit you if you want the absolute minimum maintenance: 750 grams, a valve that has to be positioned correctly in two directions, and a ban on soap on the sleeve—three things that a manual sleeve doesn’t have.

One last thing belongs in the decision. Max 2 is designed as a main product in an ecosystem, not as a standalone purchase. The price, the size, the brand-specific cable, and the fact that the app replaces the product’s own interface all point in the same direction. Anyone who just wants a good sleeve would be better off putting four hundred SEK into a manual model and spending the rest on something else.

Warranty, claims, and right of withdrawal

Lovense provides a one-year warranty from the original purchase date for the Max 2—but expressly not for the TPE sleeve, which has ninety days. This split is stated in both the manual and the warranty terms, and it’s consistent across Lovense’s entire range: Max, Max 2, Solace, and Solace Pro all have the same design, one year on the product, and ninety days on the sleeve.

Read the terms before you count on the warranty. It covers material and manufacturing defects when used according to the manual, and in that case Lovense replaces the product free of charge and covers the shipping of the replacement item. It does not cover normal wear and tear, commercial use, lack of maintenance, incorrect installation, accidents, or attempts to repair it yourself. To make a claim, you need the product’s serial number, which, according to the manufacturer, is on the packaging—so save the box—as well as proof of purchase, a description of the fault, and a photo or video showing the defect.

Two points in the terms are worth highlighting especially. The warranty is personal and cannot be transferred: it only applies to the original buyer, which means that a product bought second-hand has no warranty at all. And Lovense explicitly states that you don’t get any kind of satisfaction guarantee, referring to the products’ intimate nature. The manufacturer’s ten-year warranty is also not a warranty in the usual sense: it gives 55 percent off a new unit when purchasing on lovense.com, can be used once, and applies to a maximum of three items in the same order. If you buy from any of the eight Swedish stores above, you’re not covered by it.

What always applies, however, are your statutory rights, and Lovense itself writes that a longer period applies where mandatory law requires it. Under konsumentköplagen, you have a three-year right to make a complaint about defects in the item, regardless of what the manufacturer promises—i.e., three times longer than Lovense’s one-year warranty. For distance purchases, you also have a right of withdrawal within fourteen days under lagen om distansavtal och avtal utanför affärslokaler. Be aware that in practice the right of withdrawal is limited for hygiene products that have been taken out of a sealed package, which applies particularly strongly to this product category. The right to make a complaint about defects, however, always applies. If you have questions about what applies in your case, Konsumentverket guides you via Hallå konsument.

Specifications: material, technology, battery, radio, and warranty

Dimensions and materials

Weight
750 g
Same information on the manufacturer’s product page and in the manual
Length and diameter
Not published by the manufacturer
Insertion depth
Not published by the manufacturer
Material, housing
ABS plastic
Material, sleeve
TPE
The product page states Neutral Color TPE, while the manual states skin-like TPE
Phthalate declaration
Not published
The EU declaration names the REACH regulation, but there is no explicit material declaration
Extra sleeves
Vagina Sleeve and Neutral Hole Sleeve
10 US dollars versus the regular 15 from the manufacturer on the inspection date

Technology and control

Drive technology
Vibration and air pump
Two independent controls, each with its own button
Contractions
360 degrees, adjustable
Air chamber around the entire circumference of the sleeve
Number of vibration modes
Not published by the manufacturer
Number of contraction modes
Not published by the manufacturer
Air controls
Adjustable valve and Quick Air Release
The air pump’s valve should be open during use and closed during cleaning
App control
Lovense Remote
iOS 14.2, Android 5.0 with Bluetooth 4.0, Mac with Bluetooth 4.0, Windows requires Lovense USB Bluetooth Adapter
Toy Sync
Nora, Calor, or another Max 2
The products react to each other's movements regardless of distance
Frequency band
2402–2480 MHz
According to the EU declaration of conformity
Maximum RF output power
5.99 dBm
According to the EU declaration of conformity
Water resistance
IPX6
Powerful water jets according to IEC 60529 — not submersion
Sound level
Not published by the manufacturer

Battery and charging

Battery type
Rechargeable lithium-ion battery
Capacity
Not published by the manufacturer
Operating time
95–215 min
The manual only states the upper number
Charging time
100 min
The manual’s running text states about two hours
Standby
Up to 120 hours
Charging cable
USB cable, brand-specific
Sold separately and stated to fit Max 2 and around thirty other Lovense models
Use while charging
Not allowed according to the manual

Purchase, manufacturer, and warranty

EAN
728360599612
Verified in the manufacturer’s sku and gtin12 fields
Model designation
Max 2
Manufacturer
Hytto Pte. Ltd., Singapore
EU representative
Apex CE Specialists GmbH, Düsseldorf
Included
Product with neutral sleeve, USB charging cable, and manual
The manual also includes a quick start guide and a storage pouch
Price
1 036–1 399 SEK
Eight stores, checked July 29, 2026
Warranty, product
1 year
From the original purchase date, not transferable
Warranty, TPE sleeve
90 days
Right of complaint
3 years
Enligt konsumentköplagen, oavsett tillverkarens garanti

Frequently asked questions about the Lovense Max 2

What’s the difference between the Lovense Max 2 and Lovense Calor?
Max 2 has an air pump that provides adjustable contractions around the entire circumference of the sleeve, plus a separate vibration with its own button. Calor lacks that function but is rated IPX7, which according to IEC 60529 means it can withstand being submerged in one meter of water for 30 minutes—Max 2 is rated IPX6 and only withstands strong water jets. The manufacturer states 95 to 215 minutes of operating time for Max 2 versus 60 to 130 minutes for Calor, and both come with a one-year warranty. In Swedish stores, both cost from roughly 1,095 SEK, so the choice is about water resistance for contractions rather than about money.
How many vibration modes does the Lovense Max 2 have?
The manufacturer doesn’t say. The manual describes button A as a button that steps upward through the vibrations and button B as a button that steps through the contractions, but neither the product page nor the manual lists a number of modes for either one. Lovense instead emphasizes that the app provides unlimited patterns and stepless strength. Information about the exact number of modes that circulates on other sites lacks coverage from the manufacturer.
No, not in the sense that it can be submerged. It’s rated IPX6, which according to the IEC 60529 standard means protection against strong water jets from all directions. The rating is stated both on the manufacturer’s product page and in the EU declaration of conformity. Submersion requires IPX7. Practically, that means Max 2 can be rinsed under the tap but shouldn’t be taken into the bathtub, and the manufacturer also points out that the air pump’s valve must be closed before cleaning the product.
How is the Lovense Max 2 cleaned, and can you use soap?
The manufacturer states that the product should be cleaned before and after each use, with warm water. Soap may expressly not be used on the inner sleeve, because the TPE material can break down. Make sure the air pump’s valve is closed before you start rinsing, and dry the product thoroughly before putting it away or turning it back on. The sleeve is replaceable and is sold separately by the manufacturer in two variants, which is the practical solution when a sleeve eventually becomes worn out.
How is the Lovense Max 2 charged, and how long does the battery last?
How is the Lovense Max 2 charged, and how long does the battery last?
Turn off the product and connect the charging cable to any USB port or USB power adapter. The fixed red light turns off when the battery is fully charged. The manufacturer states a charging time of 100 minutes on the product page, while the manual’s running text says about two hours. Operating time is stated as 95 to 215 minutes, and standby time as up to 120 hours. The product must not be used while it is charging, and it should be charged at least once every six months even when it is not used. The cable is brand-specific and is sold separately by Lovense as an accessory that fits Max 2 and around 30 other models—so a regular USB-C cable will not work.
How big is the battery in Lovense Max 2, and how much does the product weigh?
The weight is 750 grams according to both the product page and the manual. However, Lovense does not publish the battery capacity in mAh and the battery voltage, either on the product page, in the manual, or in the EU declaration of conformity—the only thing that is stated is that the battery is a rechargeable lithium-ion battery. The manufacturer also does not publish the product’s length, diameter, or insertion depth, and instead only states that it fits most sizes.
Do you need the app to use Lovense Max 2?
No, the product works standalone with its two buttons: button A turns it on and off and steps between the vibrations, and button B steps between the contractions. But the app is where most of the functions are. Lovense Remote provides close-range control, long-distance control, unlimited patterns, synchronization to music and sound-activated vibrations, as well as Toy Sync with a Nora, a Calor, or an additional Max 2. The app requires iOS 14.2 or later, Android 5.0 or later with Bluetooth 4.0, or a Mac with Bluetooth 4.0—and a Windows computer requires a Lovense USB Bluetooth Adapter, sold separately.
What does Lovense warranty cover—and does it apply if I buy in Sweden?
Lovense provides a one-year warranty from the original date of purchase on the Max 2, but only ninety days on the TPE sleeve. The warranty covers material and manufacturing defects when used according to the manual, and Lovense replaces the product free of charge and covers the shipping of the replacement item. It does not cover normal wear and tear, commercial use, lack of maintenance, or attempts at repairs of your own, and it is personal—you cannot transfer it to a new owner. The manufacturer also explicitly states that it does not offer any satisfaction guarantee. The ten-year warranty is a 55 percent discount on a new unit when purchased on lovense.com and does not apply to purchases in Swedish stores. Regardless, you have three years’ right to complain under the konsumentköplagen and a 14-day right of withdrawal for distance purchases, with the practical exception that the right of withdrawal is limited for sealed hygienic items that have been opened.

Entire category compared

Lovense Max 2 isn’t included in any ranking yet. In best i test guides, the entire categories are compared against each other using five shared criteria, with what was left out shown.

Related guides and searches

Om skribenten

Elin Sandberg Founder

I run the site myself and have reviewed 395 products since 2023. Before that, I worked for eight years as a buyer of intimate hygiene products, and that’s where the product knowledge comes from. Each review is based on the manufacturer’s own specifications, product data sheets, and price data from all the shops that sell the product — all sources are at the very bottom of the page and can be checked. I compare the models against each other based on what can actually be verified: materials, dimensions, intensity levels, water-resistance rating, warranty, and price. If you find an error, I want to know about it.
  • 395 reviewed products
  • Has been writing since 2023
  • Sourced specifications
  • Prices from 14 shops

Sources

Every numerical piece of information in the text can be traced to one of the sources below. The links were checked manually on the specified date.

  1. EAN 728360599612 in the page’s structured product data (the sku and gtin12 fields), the product name "Lovense Max 2 App-Controlled Male Masturbator" with alternateName Max 2 and the category Male Masturbators, the specification table (material ABS plastic and Neutral Color TPE, weight 750 g, rechargeable lithium-ion battery, charging time 100 minutes, operating time 95–215 minutes, standby up to 120 hours, enclosure rating IPX6), the contents of the package, the list price 199 US-dollar and the campaign price 99 US-dollar on the control date, the store rating 4.6 out of 5 from 297 reviews with the sub-scores orgasm 4.7, vibration strength 5.0 and 360-degree contractions 5.0, the description of the air pump and the adjustable contractions, Toy Sync with Nora, Calor, or an additional Max 2, the app requirements (iOS 14.2 or later, Android 5.0 or later with Bluetooth 4.0, Mac with Bluetooth 4.0 and Windows computer via Lovense USB Bluetooth Adapter), the accessory sleeves Vagina Sleeve and Neutral Hole Sleeve for 10 US-dollar instead of the regular 15, as well as the charging cable that is sold separately and is indicated to fit Max 2 and an additional thirty or so Lovense models: Lovense — official product page for Max 2 in the Male Masturbators category — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  2. The button functions (button A to turn on and off with a three-second press and cycle between vibrations, button B to cycle between contractions), Quick Air Release, the adjustable air valve, the air pump valve that must be open during use and closed when cleaning, the charging port, complete package contents (product, USB charging cable, manual, quick guide, and storage pouch), the specification table (ABS plastic and skin-like TPE, 750 g, lithium-ion battery, charging 100 minutes, operating time up to 215 minutes, standby up to 120 hours, IPX6), the running text about approximately two hours of charging and that the fixed red light turns off when the battery is fully charged, the cleaning instructions (warm water, no soap on the inner sleeve, dry completely before storage), the advice to lubricate the sleeve, the opening, and the body generously before use, the information that the air cushion gradually molds to you without affecting the function, the warnings about extreme heat and cold, that the product must not be used while charging and that it should be charged at least once every six months, and the warranty periods of one year for the product and ninety days for the TPE sleeve: Lovense — official printed manual for Max 2 (PDF) — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  3. Product model and model designation Max 2, the brand Lovense, the manufacturer Hytto Pte. Ltd. with address 152 Beach Road, Singapore, the EU representative Apex CE Specialists GmbH in Düsseldorf, frequency band 2402–2480 MHz, maximum RF output power 5.99 dBm, and compliance with the RoHS Directive 2011/65/EU with the amendment 2015/863, the RED Directive 2014/53/EU, the REACH Regulation (EC) No 1907/2006, the GPSR Regulation (EU) 2023/988, the Low Voltage Directive 2014/35/EU, the WEEE Directive 2012/19/EU, the EMC Directive 2014/30/EU, and IEC 60529 with enclosure rating IPX6: Lovense — EU declaration of conformity for Max 2 (PDF) — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  4. That the manufacturer publishes an EU declaration of conformity for Max 2 and for its other range, and where the document is located: Lovense — page for regulatory compliance and declaration of conformity — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  5. Warranty terms: a one-year warranty from the original date of purchase for Max 2 excluding the TPE sleeve, a ninety-day warranty for the Max 2 sleeve, that a longer statutory period applies if mandatory law requires it, that Lovense replaces the product free of charge and covers shipping for the replacement item, the requirements for serial numbers from the packaging, proof of purchase, description of the fault, and a photo or video, that the warranty is tied to the original purchaser and cannot be transferred, exceptions for normal wear and tear, commercial use, lack of maintenance, and self-made repairs, the meaning of the ten-year warranty (55 percent discount on a new unit when purchasing on lovense.com outside the warranty year, once and for at most three items per order) as well as the manufacturer’s explicit statement that no satisfaction guarantee is offered: Lovense — official warranty terms — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  6. Comparison data for Lovense Solace: material ABS, weight 980 grams, lithium polymer battery, charging time 100 minutes, operating time up to 13 hours, enclosure rating IPX4, one-year warranty, maximum thrust rate 280 per minute, three levels of adjustable stroke length in increments of 0.65 millimeters, and package contents including a tabletop stand: Lovense — official product page, Solace — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  7. Comparison data for Lovense Calor: 60–130 minutes of continuous use, enclosure rating IPX7, USB charging, one-year warranty, and package contents (product, USB charging cable, and manual): Lovense — official product page, Calor — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  8. Comparison data for Fleshlight Flight Pilot: the size indication up to 7 inches in length and 5½ inches in circumference, the patented and phthalate-free SuperSkin material, and that the product has no motor and no battery: Fleshlight — official product page, Flight Pilot Stroker — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  9. The definition of the enclosure ratings IPX6 (protection against powerful water jets from all directions) and IPX7 (immersion to a depth of one meter for 30 minutes): IEC 60529 — Degrees of protection provided by enclosures — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  10. Phthalates used as plasticizers in soft plastic, health effects, and limitations within the EU: Kemikalieinspektionen — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  11. A three-year right to complain about defects in the product: Konsumentköplag (2022:260) — Sveriges riksdag — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  12. Fourteen-day right of withdrawal for distance purchases: Act (2005:59) on distance agreements and agreements outside business premises — Sveriges riksdag — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  13. Guidance on the right of withdrawal and the exception for sealed hygiene products: Konsumentverket — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  14. Prices, stock status, and item number from eight retailers for EAN 728360599612, as well as the comparison prices for Lovense Calor (from 1 095 SEK), Lovense Solace (from 1 295 SEK), and Fleshlight Flight Pilot (from 429 SEK). Retrieved from the retailers’ own product feeds on 29 July 2026: Adtraction (kanal Testkollen) and Addrevenue (kanal Testra) — kontrollerad 29 July 2026

This page is machine-translated from Swedish. Read the Swedish original