Skip to content
Luvrate

Review · Anal plug · Vibration with AAA battery

Black Velvets Vibrating Plug Small: review

A budget plug from Orion under the Black Velvets brand, reviewed against the manufacturer’s own specifications, the manufacturer’s customer information, and price data from seven Swedish stores. Total length 13 cm, insertion depth 9 cm, diameter 1.9–2.7 cm, silicone with ABS in the vibration module, five settings, and operation on a AAA battery that is not included — and no ingress protection rating at all.

7.1Good
Place 14 of 20in butt plug best

Elin Sandberg · Updated 29 July 2026 · 14 min read

My rating

An easy, well-shaped silicone anal plug at a low price, with a published insertion depth and a removable vibration module that makes it easy to clean the body separately. What you get is a specification without numbers: the manufacturer publishes neither an ingress protection rating, operating time, weight, nor sound level, and the customer information explicitly states that the product must not be submerged in water. The button’s placement in the base is the most concrete weakness, and it is brought up in the manufacturer’s own customer reviews.

  • Total length 13 cm, insertion depth 9 cm, Ø 1.9–2.7 cm
  • Silicone up to the base, ABS in the removable vibration module
  • Five vibration modes, one button press steps to the next
  • 1 × AAA battery — not included in the delivery
  • No IP rating: the manufacturer advises against submersion
  • 249–299 SEK at seven shops, five of them in stock

Black Velvets Vibrating Plug Small at a glance

Black Velvets Vibrating Plug Small is a classic anal plug in black silicone with a detachable vibration module in the base. The brand Black Velvets belongs to Orion Versand in Flensburg, and on the manufacturer’s own site, the item is called Analplug „Vibrating Plug“ mit 5 Vibrationsmodi with article number 05781690000. That’s why the product shows up under four different names in Swedish shops — ”Vibrating Plug Small”, ”Black Velvets Ankarplugg”, ”5 Speed Velvet Plugg Small” and ”Vibrerande buttplug 13 cm” — even though it is exactly the same item with the same EAN 4024144582730.

The specification is brief, and that in itself is part of the product. The manufacturer states a total length of 13 centimeters, an insertion depth of 9 centimeters, a diameter of 1.9 to 2.7 centimeters, the material silicone, the color black, five vibration modes, and operation on an AAA battery that is not included in the package. Delivery consists of a single thing: the plug. Seven Swedish shops sell the item for between 249 and 299 SEK, and five of them had it in stock at the price check.

So it isn’t a premium product, and it shouldn’t be judged as one either. The question this review is trying to answer is different: what do you get for under three hundred kronor, what information does the manufacturer publish, what do they not publish, and where in the specification are the limitations that actually affect how the product can be used and cared for?

What 249 SEK actually buys

The construction is simple and easy to describe. A conical, tapering silicone body sits on a broad, anchor-shaped base plate. Through the base there is a cylindrical cavity where a detachable bullet module with a battery compartment sits — and it’s that part that vibrates. The module protrudes a few centimeters below the base plate and has the on/off button at its end. The manufacturer’s own size diagram shows the same: the outer outline measures about 13 centimeters in height, the insertable part about 9 centimeters, and the widest point on the cone about 2.7 centimeters.

The wide base is the whole point of the shape. The manufacturer describes it as a wide base for secure attachment and a steady grip, and in the customer information the function is explained technically: the stopper prevents the product from sliding fully into the rectum. That is the single most important safety feature of an anal product, and the anchor-shaped, sideways base on this model is noticeably wider than the cone itself — which means it works as intended even when the body pulls in around the plug.

What is not included is at least as informative. No battery is included. No storage pouch is included. No lubricant is included. The manufacturer lists the delivery contents as “1 × Analplug Vibrating Plug von Black Velvets,” and that list is complete. So count on adding an AAA battery and a bottle of water-based lubricant before the product can be used—and count on the lubricant not being optional, since the manufacturer’s own customer information expressly requires plenty of lubricant to avoid pain or injuries during insertion.

Small or Large—what’s the difference between 13 and 15 centimeters?

Orion sells the model in two sizes, and they have separate item numbers and separate EAN numbers. It’s worth checking before you click to order, because several Swedish shops list both under the same product page with a size selector.

  • Small — item number 05781690000, EAN 4024144582730. Total length 13 centimeters, insertion depth 9 centimeters, diameter 1.9 to 2.7 centimeters. This is what the text is about. The manufacturer’s price: 27.95 euro.
  • Large — item number 05781770000, EAN 4024144582754. Total length 15 centimeters, insertion depth 11 centimeters, diameter 2 to 3 centimeters. The manufacturer’s price: 29.95 euro.

The diameter difference is less than the names suggest. Small goes from 1.9 to 2.7 centimeters, and Large from 2 to 3 centimeters—so three millimeters more at the widest point. The real difference is in the depth: 11 centimeters insertable versus 9. That means the step between the sizes is primarily about how far into the product it reaches, not about how much it widens. The material, the five vibration modes, the battery type, and the overall construction are identical.

A note about the shop texts belongs here. Taboo writes that the model is available in three sizes—Small, Medium, and Large. The manufacturer lists only two variants on the product page, 13 and 15 centimeters, and in the Swedish product feeds only Small and Large appear. Base your comparison on the manufacturer’s breakdown.

Dimensions and shape: 13 centimeters total, 9 centimeters in.

The measurements are the most concrete information available about this product, and they’re also what determines whether it’s right for you. The manufacturer provides three figures: total length 13 centimeters, insertion depth 9 centimeters, and diameter 1.9 to 2.7 centimeters. The same figures are shown in the manufacturer’s own dimensions graphic, which places 13 centimeters across the entire product, including the protruding vibration module, 9 centimeters across the insertable cone, and 2.7 centimeters as the maximum diameter.

So, the difference between the 13 and the 9 centimeters is therefore not wasted material. It consists of the thickness of the base plate plus the bullet module that sticks out below. In practice, this means that four of the product’s thirteen centimeters are parts that are meant to be outside the body—and that specific detail is relevant if you think about wearing the plug under clothes, since a protruding cylinder at the base is harder to hide than a flat base.

The diameter range from 1.9 to 2.7 centimeters—what it means

The diameter range describes the cone’s shape: it is 1.9 centimeters a bit up from the tip and 2.7 centimeters at its widest point, just before the neck. The manufacturer describes the tip as narrow for easy insertion. What can be established purely geometrically is that 2.7 centimeters in maximum diameter places it in the lower part of the category, and that the tapered cone shape means the widening happens gradually throughout insertion rather than all at once.

The manufacturer’s own customer information is unusually straightforward in this section, and the advice applies regardless of brand: gently stretch the ring muscle before anal penetration, start with sex toys with a smaller diameter, and increase the size carefully. It also points out that there are two muscle rings that the product has to pass, and that insertion therefore should be done slowly. This isn’t marketing copy but a safety instruction, and that’s why 2.7 centimeters can feel very different for two different people.

The consequence for your purchase decision is simple. If you have no previous experience, Small is the variant you should look at, not Large. If you’ve already used plugs over three centimeters, this one will likely feel small—and then Large, with its 3 centimeters and 11 centimeters of insertion depth, is the logical next step within the same model family.

The stores contradict each other about the length

Here there is a specific contradiction in the sources that is worth reporting, because it affects which product you think you’re buying.

The manufacturer lists a total length of 13 centimeters and an insertion depth of 9 centimeters. Mshop, Joyland, Lekosmek, and Vuxenkul all repeat the same figures. Intima and Vuxen instead state a total length of 12 centimeters and an insertable length of 9.5 centimeters. So, it’s two stores that both shorten the total length by one centimeter and lengthen the insertable part by half.

The rule we apply is that the manufacturer is right when the details differ, so 13 centimeters total and 9 centimeters insertable are the figures that are listed further down in the specification table. But the discrepancy is worth knowing for a practical reason: the difference of half a centimeter in insertable length is the kind of detail that determines whether a product feels right, and the person who measures against an older plug should go by the manufacturer’s figures rather than the store’s.

A second deviation in the same shop text deserves a list. An adult shop writes that the plug has a pull-out cord. Neither the manufacturer’s description, the manufacturer’s included delivery contents, nor the manufacturer’s own product images show any cord — what is there is the anchor-shaped base and the protruding vibration module, which together function as a handle. Treat the cord specification as an error in the shop text.

The weight the manufacturer does not publish

Orion does not publish any weight for this article, neither on the product page nor in customer information. Instead, two shops do it, and they don’t agree: the retailer Mshop states 0.10 kilograms, i.e. 100 grams, while the retailer Taboo states 125 grams. The difference is 25 percent, which is too much to dismiss as rounding.

What can be determined is that both figures are reasonable for a silicone body of this size with a battery module in the base, and that the difference is likely about whether the weight refers to the product alone or the product with packaging. At the same time, Mshop states the packaging dimensions as 14.5 × 7.8 × 4.3 centimeters, which is the only published packaging measurement available for this article. Assume a product weight in the range of about one hectogram, and note that this figure comes from the shops and not from the manufacturer.

Weight matters more for an anal plug than for most other products, because a heavy plug with a high center of gravity outside the body pulls downward when you move. With a protruding battery module in the base, the center of gravity on this model sits farther out than it does on a plug with a completely flat base. That’s an argument for using it lying down or sitting rather than carrying it while walking.

Material: silicone on the outside, ABS on the inside

The material question is the only characteristic of an intimate product that neither experience nor care can compensate for, and on an anal product it matters even more than on other product categories. The manufacturer’s article data gives a single word: silicone. In the running product description, instead, it says “Silikon, ABS,” and on the front of the packaging the word SILICONE appears together with the marking “soft touch.” The manufacturer describes the product as “nahezu komplett aus Silikon” — almost entirely made of silicone.

Why Silicone Is the Right Material for Anal Use

Silicone is a non-porous material. A non-porous surface can be cleaned, because there are no microscopic cavities where residue can get stuck. For anal use, it’s an even stronger argument than for vaginal use: the rectum has a completely different bacterial flora, and a product that can’t be cleaned completely can’t be used again and again in a hygienic way. That’s why the material declaration weighs more than almost every other line in this specification.

The split between silicone and ABS is also important to understand correctly. The retailer Joyland breaks down the material as “ABS plastic, silicone,” and if you look at the manufacturer’s own pictures, it’s clear where the boundary is: the entire insertable cone and the entire base plate are silicone, while the removable vibration module in the base has a hard plastic casing. ABS is the plastic you find in the battery compartment and buttons across pretty much the entire product category. It’s also pore-free, but it’s hard—and that means it’s plastic, not silicone, that meets your fingers when you press the button.

That the silicone goes all the way out to the base and not just covers the cone is a real advantage for a product in this price range. It means there’s no seam between a silicone head and a plastic shaft inside the part that’s in contact with the body. The only seam is the one between the base plate and the removable module, and it’s located outside the body—but it still needs to be cleaned, because lubricants and residue collect exactly in that type of gap. Joyland describes the surface as silky smooth and the firmness as medium; Vuxen states instead that the firmness is firm. The manufacturer publishes no firmness information at all, so both of those are store claims and should be read as such.

Phthalates, BPA, and the declaration that’s missing

Phthalates are a group of plasticizers used to make plastic—above all, flexible PVC—pliable. The Swedish Chemicals Agency (Kemikalieinspektionen) describes them as substances that can affect the hormone system and make reproduction harder, and several of them are therefore restricted or banned within the EU in a large number of products. This particular product category is a recurring subject of supervision because it contains flexible plastic against the mucous membrane.

There’s a gap here that’s worth pointing out plainly. Orion doesn’t state any phthalate-free declaration for this item on the product page. The retailer Vuxen states “Phthalate-free: Yes,” but it’s a store claim with no equivalent in the manufacturer’s own material. The manufacturer’s customer information, however, includes a general instruction to read the information on the product packaging carefully to avoid allergic reactions, for example to latex.

Strictly in terms of materials, the risk is low rather than for declaration-related reasons: silicone doesn’t need phthalate plasticizers to be soft, because the softness comes from the polymer’s own structure. That’s also why the word silicone itself is a better message than terms like “TPE” or “jelly rubber,” which say nothing at all about which plasticizers are included. But there’s a difference between reasoning and a commitment, and the person who wants an explicit phthalate-free declaration from the manufacturer doesn’t get that here.

Two pieces of information from the manufacturer are still worth noting in this context. Orion lists OV-Großhandel in DE-24933 Flensburg as the party responsible for manufacturing, which means there is an identifiable EU-based responsible party you can turn to—something that is missing from a large portion of the cheapest products in the category. And in the customer information, you are instructed to store the product separately from other products made of other materials, because chemical reactions otherwise can occur. It is standard advice for silicone, but it is advice that actually matters: silicone that stays against softened PVC for a long time can become tacky.

Five vibration modes and a single button

The interface consists of a single button. It sits at the end of the removable vibration module—that is, at the bottom of the product—and when you press it, you move on to the next of the five vibration modes. After the fifth one, the next press turns it off. The manufacturer describes it as five alternating vibration modes that are convenient with one press, and provides no more detail than that.

What the five modes actually are—how many are constant speeds and how many are pulsing patterns—is not published by the manufacturer. The shop texts don’t help either: Intima calls them “5 different levels,” Lekosmek “5 vibration modes,” and Vuxen “5-level vibration,” which suggests pure speed steps, but none of them has a source from the manufacturer for that interpretation. What can be established is the number, not the character.

The button sits in the base—and that’s the product’s weakest point

The placement of the button is the most concrete design issue with this product, and it deserves its own heading because it is predictable from the construction. The button sits at the end of the protruding module, meaning on the surface that points straight back when the plug is in place. All pressure from the rear therefore hits the button.

This is not a theoretical objection. Among the nine customer reviews that the manufacturer itself publishes on the product page—the average rating is 4.3 out of 5—one reviewer describes that exact problem: that the plug is turned on and off with every bump in certain positions because the push-button is at the end, and that a button on the side would have been better. Another reviewer brings up the same thing as the product’s only downside and writes that the button should be placed differently. Orion’s customer service replies in the thread that the comment is passed on. So it’s criticism that the manufacturer publishes and addresses on its own product page, not a supposed weakness without a source.

The consequence for the buying decision is limited but real: the product works best when it’s used while still, and worse when it’s subjected to repeated rearward pressure. It’s different from plugs where the control is located on the side of the base, or is operated via a remote control or app.

How Is a Vibrating Anal Plug Used?

The manufacturer’s customer information contains a numbered instruction, and it is more detailed than what the store texts suggest. The order is as follows.

  1. Apply enough lubricant to the product’s surface. The manufacturer states that only water-based lubricant may be used, and that plenty of lubricant is needed to avoid pain during penetration or damage to the ring muscle.
  2. Start the vibration innan insertion, via the button on the controller. This is explicitly the manufacturer’s order, and the reason is practical: the button is harder to reach once the product is in place.
  3. Get into a comfortable position—leaning forward on all fours, on your back with a pillow under your buttocks, or crouching over the product.
  4. Insert the product slowly. The manufacturer points out that there are two muscle rings to pass, and that you should go slowly and carefully, preferably after you’ve relaxed with circular finger movements.
  5. Change the vibration mode by gently pressing the controller, and pull the product out slowly using the base when you’re done.

The manufacturer also mentions that some anal toys are suitable for vaginal use, and that in that case the product should be cleaned thoroughly after each anal use before it is used vaginally. Orion does not publish any explicit approval for vaginal use of this particular article, so the text should be read as the general instruction it is.

Battery: 1 × AAA not included

The drive is the point where this product differs the most from everything above it in price. The manufacturer specifies an AAA battery—Micro/AAA in German labeling, and in Joylands store text it is clarified as LR3—and states explicitly that the battery is not included. So there is no rechargeable battery, no charging cable, no charging connector, and no charging time.

How long does an AAA battery last in the plug?

Orion does not publish any run time for this product, either in hours or minutes, and none of the seven Swedish stores does either. Therefore, it isn’t possible to provide a figure here, and every page that does so provides either its own measurement or a value without a source.

What can be established, however, is the structure of the question. An AAA alkaline battery has significantly lower energy content than the lithium-ion cells in rechargeable competitors, and a bullet motor draws more current the higher the step used. With a single-use battery, that means two things in practice: the runtime is short enough that it’s worth having a spare battery at home, and the output decreases gradually as the battery is drained instead of being kept constant until shutdown. The manufacturer’s customer information also describes an automatic shutdown behavior when the battery is low.

Battery operation has both pros and cons

It’s easy to dismiss AAA operation as outdated, but the trade-off is more nuanced than that. The advantage is that the product never becomes unusable because a soldered-in cell has aged: a rechargeable battery that loses its capacity after a few hundred charge cycles turns the product into waste, while a discharged AAA battery is replaced in ten seconds. For a product that costs 249 SEK and is used infrequently, it’s a real argument.

There are three disadvantages. The first is the operating cost and the hassle—disposable batteries need to be bought and taken to recycling, which the manufacturer also reminds you of in the customer information. The second is that the power drops during use instead of being constant. The third is hygienic: the battery compartment is an opening in the product, and that’s exactly why this model can’t be waterproof.

The manufacturer provides a care tip that’s easy to miss and that extends the service life of both the battery and the product: remove the battery from the product after each use. The reason is that a battery left inside can leak, and a leaking alkaline battery in a tight compartment destroys the contacts. The same section also says that the product should be stored clean, cool, and dry, because moisture damages batteries and the motor.

Water resistance: the most important line in the entire specification

If you only read one paragraph in this text, it should be this one, because it applies to a feature that most people assume exists and that’s missing here.

No IPX rating—and what the manufacturer writes instead

Orion does not state any enclosure rating at all for this item. There are neither IPX7, IPX6, IPX5, nor IPX4 in the manufacturer’s article data. This isn’t an omitted detail, because the customer information instead says something much more definite. In the Swedish section, both under “Innan första användning” and under “Skötselråd”: make sure no water gets into the battery compartment to prevent damage to the device—and then, with an exclamation mark, do not submerge the device in water.

So this is the manufacturer’s own instruction, not our interpretation. The stores are split on exactly this point. Vuxenkul states plainly “Waterproof: No,” which matches the manufacturer. Instead, Vuxen describes the product as splash-protected, which is a stronger commitment than what the manufacturer makes and is not covered by the manufacturer’s material. When the details differ, it’s the manufacturer’s that applies: the product should not be submerged.

To put it in perspective: a product with IPX7 according to IEC 60529 is tested for submersion in water to a depth of one meter for 30 minutes, and a product with IPX4 is tested against water spray from all directions. Black Velvets Vibrating Plug Small has none of these ratings. Having no rating is never a sign that the product would still handle submersion—on the contrary, that is the reason to treat it as not waterproof, and here the manufacturer explicitly confirms it.

Practically speaking, that means three things. The product doesn’t belong in a shower or bathtub. It should not be held under running water without thinking about where the battery compartment is located. And cleaning must be done in a different way than with a fully waterproof product.

Cleaning, Lubricant, and Storage

The manufacturer’s instruction is to clean the product after each use with warm water and mild soap, and then disinfect it with a disinfectant that is intended for the product, while also making sure that no water gets into the battery compartment. On the product page, Orion recommends a special toy cleaner for that purpose.

The way to make both parts fit together is to remove the battery module first. Since the vibration module is removable, the silicone body can be cleaned much more thoroughly than the product as a whole—that is the only practical advantage of the split design, and it’s worth taking advantage of. The module itself is wiped with a damp cloth. Let everything air-dry completely before putting the module back in, because moisture in the compartment is exactly what the manufacturer warns against.

On the question of lubricant, the manufacturer is unequivocal, and the reason is stated right on the product page: only use water-based lubricant, because lubricants containing silicone attack the silicone material in the plug. It’s a real technical connection and not sales talk—silicone-based lubricant breaks down the silicone surface over time and makes it porous, and a porous surface can no longer be cleaned properly; at most, it can only be replaced. Oil-based products such as coconut oil also leave behind a film that’s difficult to remove.

According to the manufacturer, storage should be kept clean, cool, and dry, without direct sunlight, and the product should be stored on its own and not together with products made of other materials. Since no storage pouch is included in the delivery, you’ll have to solve that yourself—a simple cotton pouch is enough and addresses both the dust issue and the material-contact issue at the same time.

Two general instructions in the customer information are also worth taking into account. The product must not be frozen or heated, which rules out boiling and a dishwasher. And it shouldn’t be passed on to anyone else for infection-control reasons—which is one of the strongest arguments for it being easy to clean right from the start.

Sound level: “hushed” with no measurement value

Store texts are strikingly in agreement that the product is quiet. Mshop describes it as a soft beginner buttplug with five vibration levels and a silent motor. Intima talks about wonderful whispering vibrations, and Vuxen about very silent vibrations. None of these formulations has a corresponding counterpart with the manufacturer, and Orion publishes no decibel value for this item.

What can generally be established is that a small bullet motor with an eccentric weight in a silicone housing is dampened by the material, and that the noise level increases with each step up the scale. A practical tip that applies regardless of model: never place the product on a hard tabletop while it’s running, because the tabletop works as a resonance box and noticeably amplifies the sound. Beyond that, there’s nothing measurable to go on—and a comparison against competitors in terms of noise level can’t be made using source-referenced data, because neither Fun Factory nor Satisfyer publish decibel values for their corresponding plugs either.

Where can you buy it — and what does it cost?

We do not have price data from shops in your market yet.

  1. LovehoneySearch Lovehoney
  2. BabelandSearch Babeland
The manufacturer does not state any ingress protection rating. Instead, it says in the customer information, with an exclamation mark: do not immerse the device in water.
Orion’s customer information, Swedish section

Pros

  • Silicone all the way out to the anchor-shaped base
  • Published insertion depth 9 cm and diameter 1.9–2.7 cm — beginner-friendly range
  • Removable vibration module makes it easy to clean the silicone body separately
  • Five vibration modes with a single button press
  • The battery is replaced in ten seconds — no fixed soldered-in cell that ages
  • From 249 SEK, and five out of seven stores had it in stock

Cons

  • No IP rating — the manufacturer explicitly states that it must not be dipped in water
  • The button sits in the base and can be pushed in by pressure from behind, which the manufacturer’s own customer reviews mention.
  • AAA battery is not included in the delivery.
  • The manufacturer publishes neither operating time, weight, sound level, nor a phthalate declaration.
  • Intima and Vuxen list a total length of 12 cm, versus the manufacturer’s 13 cm.
  • No manufacturer warranty is published—only one store states two years.

Rating in detail: five criteria, the same for the entire category

7.1Good
Materials and hygiene
7,0
Silicone all the way to the base with a removable vibration module, but the product must not be dipped in water.
Base and safety
7,6
Silicone all the way out into the base and only up to Ø 2.7 cm — small and easy to check.
Size and fit
7,8
13 cm total and Ø 1.9–2.7 cm tapering — the slimmest in the field. The stores list 12 or 13 cm.
Function and adjustability
5,8
Five positions on a button in the base, and the AAA cell can be replaced instead of charging.
Price vs. performance
7,4
From 249 SEK with a consistent price range. However, for 100 SEK more, there is IPX7 and a rechargeable battery.

Black Velvets Vibrating Plug Small compared with the alternatives

Three comparisons are relevant: versus the larger variant in the same model family, versus the cheapest rechargeable competitor, and versus an app-controlled premium plug. All specifications below come from the respective manufacturers’ own product pages, and all Swedish prices come from the shops’ product feeds on 29 July 2026.

Against Black Velvets Vibrating Plug Large — 100 SEK for two centimeters

The closest comparison is within the family. Large has article number 05781770000 and EAN 4024144582754, and it costs from 349 SEK in Swedish stores, versus 249 SEK for Small. With the manufacturer, the price difference is only two euros—29.95 versus 27.95—which says something about how differently Swedish stores set margins for the two sizes.

The differences in the specification are exactly three: total length goes from 13 to 15 centimeters, insertion depth from 9 to 11 centimeters, and diameter from 1.9–2.7 to 2–3 centimeters. Everything else is identical—same silicone, same five vibration modes, same single AAA battery that is not included, the same lack of an enclosure rating, and the same delivery contents for a single item.

The conclusion is straightforward. If you don’t have any prior experience with anal plugs, Small is the right choice, and the hundred kroners in difference won’t buy you anything useful. If you already know that 2.7 centimeters is too small for you, and you want to go two centimeters deeper, then Large is right—but then you should also note that the only functional upgrade is the size.

Against Fun Factory Bootie VIBE — same price range, completely different technology

Fun Factory’s Bootie VIBE costs from 349 SEK in Swedish stores, i.e. 100 SEK more than Black Velvets Small at its cheapest. On the price tag they’re close to each other; in the specification they aren’t.

Fun Factory publishes a length of 95 millimeters, a width of 80 millimeters, a height of 26 millimeters, and a weight of 73 grams. The material is silicone together with ABS plastic and polycarbonate. Twelve vibration programs, an IPX7 ingress protection rating, and charging via USB-C. There are four things that Black Velvets lacks: a published weight value from the manufacturer, a published ingress protection rating, a rechargeable battery with a standard connector, and more than twice as many programs.

The counterargument lies in the dimensions. Bootie VIBE is a significantly smaller product — 95 millimeters total length versus 130 — and Fun Factory does not publish either insertion depth or diameter, which makes it impossible to compare how much they widen. So if you want a stated IPX7 and USB-C in this price range, you get it — but you don’t get it in the same format. If you choose based on transparency and care, Fun Factory wins; if you choose based on insertion depth and stated insert dimensions, Black Velvets wins.

Against Satisfyer Plug-ilicious 1 — 146 SEK more, three price tiers higher

The Satisfyer Plug-ilicious 1 Connect App costs from 395 SEK, so it’s 146 SEK more than Black Velvets Small at its lowest. It’s a noticeably small difference given how differently the two products are built.

Satisfyer publishes a length of 135 millimeters, a width of 68.5 millimeters, a height of 43 millimeters, a weight of 82.88 grams, and the material as ABS plastic and silicone. It has two separately controllable motors, app control via Satisfyer Connect, a rechargeable lithium-ion battery that is charged with a supplied magnetic USB cable, an IPX7 ingress protection rating, and a 15-year warranty. The total length is close to Black Velvets 13 centimeters, but it is based on a completely different design.

Here the difference is so big that it determines the question for most people. For 146 SEK more, you get a product that can be submerged in water, that is charged instead of powered by disposable batteries, that has two motors instead of one, that has app control, and that is covered by a 15-year manufacturer warranty compared with the two-year product warranty Lekosmek states for Black Velvets. What speaks for Black Velvets in this comparison is the price itself, the tapering conical shape with a published insertion depth, and that a product without an app, without an account, and without Bluetooth is simply easier to own.

At the same time, it should be said that Satisfyer also doesn’t publish everything: neither battery capacity in mAh, operating time, charging time, insertion depth, nor diameter is available on their product page. So the lack of published figures is an industry issue and not something unique to the cheapest product in the comparison.

Price range: 249 to 299 SEK at seven stores

Seven Swedish shops sell the item with EAN 4024144582730. The cheapest is Lekosmek at 249 SEK, and the most expensive is Mshop, Intima, Vuxen, and Vuxenkul at 299 SEK each. The spread is therefore 50 SEK, or 20 percent, for exactly the same item number, same size, and same packaging—an appreciably more even pricing picture than in the premium segment, which is typical for an item that has been around in the range for a long time.

The stock situation here is unusually good. Five of the seven shops had the product in stock at the price check: Lekosmek at 249 SEK, Joyland at 254 SEK, Taboo at 279 SEK, and Mshop and Intima at 299 SEK each. The two that were missing stock, Vuxen and Vuxenkul, were both at 299 SEK—so still on the expensive side. This means that the cheapest available and the second-cheapest available differ by just five kronor, and that price comparison in this case gives you less of a win than usual.

Two things weigh more than the price difference. The first is shipping cost: in a price range below three hundred kronor, all the shops are well below their free-shipping thresholds, and shipping can therefore easily become a larger cost than the fifty kronor that separate the cheapest and the most expensive shop. The second is that you need to buy an AAA battery and a water-based lubricant—two items that don’t show up in the table above, but that are necessary for the product to be usable as the manufacturer describes.

One thing to note about Taboos pricing: the shop states 279 SEK as the recommended price in its own product text, which is the same figure as their actual price in the feed. The prices in the table are updated when the shops’ product feeds are updated, but always check the final price at checkout.

Who is it suitable for—and who isn’t it for?

It’s for you if you want to try an anal plug with vibration without spending more than a couple of hundred SEK, and if you want a tapered conical design with a published insertion depth instead of a product where the manufacturer only gives the total length. It’s for you if you prefer silicone all the way to the base rather than a plug where only the tip is silicone. It’s for you if you’d rather replace an AAA battery than recharge it, and for you who want a product without an app, without an account, and without Bluetooth. And it’s for you if you want to be able to remove the vibration module and clean the silicone body yourself.

It doesn’t fit you if you want to use the product in the shower or in a bathtub — the manufacturer explicitly states that it must not be immersed in water. It doesn’t fit you if you want a published ingress protection rating, published operating time, published weight, or an explicit phthalate-free declaration from the manufacturer, because none of these are available. It doesn’t fit you if you want a control that can be reached while the product is in place, nor if you want to be able to move freely without accidentally pressing the button in the base. And it doesn’t fit you if you already use plugs that are more than three centimeters in diameter — then Large within the same family, or an entirely different product category, is the reasonable choice.

One last thing belongs in the decision. What’s missing in this specific specification is rarely something a manufacturer simply overlooks. That operating time, weight, sound level, and ingress protection rating are all missing at the same time is a pattern that goes along with the price segment, and it’s reasonable to buy the product with your eyes open about that: you pay 249 SEK for a simple, well-shaped silicone plug with a bullet motor in the base, not for a product with documented performance. If that deal is the one you want to make, it’s good value. If you want numbers to compare, you’ll have to pay more.

Warranty, complaints, and right of withdrawal

Orion does not publish any own manufacturer warranty for this item on the product page. What exists is a store claim: the retailer Lekosmek states two years of product warranty on its product page. The other six shops state no warranty period at all. So treat two years as a piece of information from a shop, not as a promise from the manufacturer.

What always applies, though, are your statutory rights, and in practice they’re stronger than what most people think in this price range. Under konsumentköplagen, you have three years of right to complain about defects if the goods are faulty, regardless of what the manufacturer or the shop promises. This applies to original defects — such as a motor that stops working after a short period of normal use, a crack in the silicone, or a battery compartment that doesn’t seal tightly — and it’s the seller, meaning the shop you bought from, who is responsible.

For distance purchases, you also have a right of withdrawal for fourteen days under lagen om distansavtal och avtal utanför affärslokaler. Be aware that in practice the right of withdrawal is limited for hygiene products that have been taken out of a sealed package — and this particular product is sold in a blister package that must be opened for the product to be usable. The right to complain about defects, however, always applies, regardless of whether the package has been opened. If you have questions about what applies in your case, Konsumentverket guides you via Hallå konsument.

Two things that belong more to ownership than to the warranty. The product contains electronics and, according to the manufacturer’s customer information, must be left free of charge at an electronics waste collection point when it has been used up—it does not belong in household trash. And the battery must be removed before the product is handed in, and then left separately for battery collection. The fact that the battery is removable makes that easier here than on products with a soldered-in cell, which is a small but real advantage of the simple design.

Specifications: dimensions, material, operation, water resistance, and warranty

Dimensions and material

Total length
13 cm
Manufacturer’s stated. Intima and Vuxen indicate 12 cm
Insertion depth
9 cm
Manufacturer’s stated. Intima and Vuxen indicate 9.5 cm
Diameter
1,9–2,7 cm
Tapered conical shape, 2.7 cm at the widest point
Weight
Not published by the manufacturer
Store details: Mshop states 100 g, Taboo states 125 g
Package dimensions
14.5 × 7.8 × 4.3 cm
Store detail from Mshop — the manufacturer publishes no package dimensions
Material
Silicone and ABS plastic
The manufacturer states silicone in the product data and “Silicone, ABS” in the description
Color
Black
Surface and hardness
Not published by the manufacturer
Shop details: Joyland states silky-smooth, smooth, and medium hardness; Vuxen states firm
Phthalate-free
Not published by the manufacturer
Shop detail: Vuxen states phthalate-free

Function and operation

Vibration modes
5
Selected using a button in the base
Characteristics of the modes
Not published by the manufacturer
No breakdown into speeds and patterns is stated
Motor
Removable vibration module in the base
Battery
1 × AAA (Micro/LR3)
Not included in the delivery
Rechargeable
No
Charging connection
Missing — the product is powered by a disposable battery
Operating time
Not published by the manufacturer
App control
No
Remote control
No
Water resistance
No IPX rating
The manufacturer states that the device must not be submerged in water and that the battery compartment must be kept dry
Sound level
Not published by the manufacturer
The stores describe the motor as quiet, but no decibel value is provided

Purchase, packaging, and warranty

EAN
4024144582730
Small version. Large has EAN 4024144582754
Manufacturer item number
05781690000
Appears as 0578169 and 578169 respectively in Swedish stores
Responsible manufacturer
OV-Großhandel, DE-24933 Flensburg
The brand Black Velvets belongs to Orion Versand
Included
Only the anal plug
No battery, no pouch, no lubricant
Sizes
Small 13 cm and Large 15 cm
Large: insertion depth 11 cm, Ø 2–3 cm
Price
249–299 SEK
Seven stores, checked on 29 July 2026
Manufacturer warranty
Not published by the manufacturer
Store information: Lekosmek states a two-year product warranty
Right to complain
3 years
According to the Swedish Consumer Sales Act (konsumentköplagen), regardless of the manufacturer’s warranty

Frequently asked questions about Black Velvets Vibrating Plug Small

Is Black Velvets Vibrating Plug Small waterproof?
No. The manufacturer states that the product has no ingress protection rating at all, and the customer information explicitly says that the device must not be submerged in water and that no water may get into the battery compartment. The product therefore does not belong in a shower or bathtub. Instead, clean it with warm water and mild soap with the battery module removed, and let everything dry completely before putting the module back. The store Vuxenkul correctly states “Waterproof: No,” while Vuxen describes the product as splash-proof—a stronger commitment than the manufacturer makes and one that is not supported by the manufacturer’s materials.
What battery is needed, and is it included?
A AAA battery, with German labeling Micro and specified in Joylands’ store text as LR3. It is not included in the delivery—the manufacturer lists the delivery contents as only the anal plug itself. The product is not rechargeable and has neither a charging cable nor a charging contact. In its customer information, the manufacturer recommends removing the battery after each use, both to extend the battery’s service life and to avoid damage to the product if the battery were to leak.
How long does the battery last in Black Velvets Vibrating Plug Small?
Orion does not publish a runtime for this product, either in hours or minutes, and none of the seven Swedish stores does either. It is therefore not possible to state a figure with a source. What can be established generally is that an AAA alkaline battery has significantly lower energy content than a lithium-ion battery, that power consumption increases with each vibration step, and that the output gradually decreases as the battery discharges instead of being kept constant. Keep a spare battery at home.
What is the difference between Vibrating Plug Small and Vibrating Plug Large?
Only the size. Small has article number 05781690000 and EAN 4024144582730 with a total length of 13 cm, insertion depth of 9 cm, and a diameter of 1.9–2.7 cm. Large has article number 05781770000 and EAN 4024144582754 with a total length of 15 cm, insertion depth of 11 cm, and a diameter of 2–3 cm. The material, the five vibration modes, the battery type, the absence of an enclosure rating, and the contents of the delivery are identical. In Swedish stores, Large costs from 349 SEK compared with Smalls 249 SEK, even though the price difference from the manufacturer is only two euros.
How big is it really — 12 or 13 centimeters?
The manufacturer states 13 cm total length and 9 cm insertion depth, and the same numbers also appear in the manufacturer’s own measurement graphic. Mshop, Joyland, Lekosmek, and Vuxenkul repeat them. Intima and Vuxen instead state 12 cm total length and 9.5 cm insertable length. When the details differ, go by the manufacturer’s figures, so count on 13 cm total, of which 9 cm is insertable. The difference between the two numbers is the thickness of the base plus the vibration module that protrudes underneath and therefore sits outside the body.
Which lubricant should be used?
Water-based, and it’s not optional. On the product page, the manufacturer writes that only water-based lubricants may be used because silicone-containing lubricants attack the plug’s silicone material, and the customer information repeats the requirement with the addition that you should use plenty of lubricant to avoid pain during insertion or damage to the anal sphincter. Silicone-based lubricant makes the silicone surface porous over time, and a porous surface can no longer be cleaned properly. Oil-based products like coconut oil leave a film that is difficult to remove.
Is it suitable for beginners?
The measurements point to yes: the 2.7 cm maximum diameter is in the lower part of the category, the conical shape widens gradually instead of all at once, and the anchor-shaped base works as a stopper that prevents the product from sliding all the way in. The manufacturer’s customer information also gives a clear piece of advice that’s worth following regardless of the product: gently stretch the anal sphincter in advance, start with a smaller diameter, and increase the size carefully. What speaks against it is the position of the button in the base, which means the product can be turned on or off by pressure from the back — an objection that’s also raised in the manufacturer’s own published customer reviews.
What warranty applies if it breaks?
Orion does not publish its own manufacturer warranty for the item. The only warranty information provided is a store notice: Lekosmek states a two-year product warranty. Regardless, under konsumentköplagen you have a three-year right to complain about defects in the goods if they existed from the outset, and it is directed to the store you bought from, not to the manufacturer. For distance purchases, you also have fourteen days to withdraw from the purchase under lagen om distansavtal, with the practical exception that the right of withdrawal is limited for sealed hygiene products that have been taken out of their packaging. When the product is used up, it should be handed in for electronics recycling with the battery removed.

The best-in-test product

Black Velvet’s Vibrating Plug Small is ranked på plats 14 av 20 in butt plug best i test, where the entire category is compared against each other using five shared criteria. Guiden vinns av Lovense Hush 2 45 mm.

Related guides and searches

Om skribenten

Elin Sandberg Founder

I run the site myself and have reviewed 395 products since 2023. Before that, I worked for eight years as a buyer of intimate hygiene products, and that’s where the product knowledge comes from. Each review is based on the manufacturer’s own specifications, product data sheets, and price data from all the shops that sell the product — all sources are at the very bottom of the page and can be checked. I compare the models against each other based on what can actually be verified: materials, dimensions, intensity levels, water-resistance rating, warranty, and price. If you find an error, I want to know about it.
  • 395 reviewed products
  • Has been writing since 2023
  • Sourced specifications
  • Prices from 14 shops

Sources

Every numerical piece of information in the text can be traced to one of the sources below. The links were checked manually on the specified date.

  1. Material silicone (and ABS in the product description), total length 13 cm, insertion depth 9 cm, diameter 1,9–2,7 cm, black color, battery 1 × AAA that is not included, five vibration modes, contents of delivery 1 × anal plug, brand Black Velvets, item number 05781690000, responsible manufacturer OV-Großhandel in DE-24933 Flensburg, the recommendation to use only water-based lubricant, cleaning with water and soap, the price 27,95 euro as well as the customer rating 4,3 out of 5 on nine reviews: Orion — official product page, anal plug „Vibrating Plug“ with 5 vibration modes — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  2. Comparison data for the larger variant: item number 05781770000, total length 15 cm, insertion depth 11 cm, diameter 2–3 cm, same material, same five vibration modes, same 1 × AAA and the price 29,95 euro: Orion — official product page, variant 15 cm — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  3. Manufacturer’s multilingual customer information, Swedish section: the ban on dipping the device in water, the requirement that no water may enter the battery compartment, cleaning with warm water and mild soap before first use, the requirement for water-based lubricant, the instruction to switch on the product before it is inserted, the stopper’s function, the instruction to remove the battery after each use, the storage instructions and information about battery and electrical waste: Orion — Customer information (PDF, document 05781690000_585_BPZ_052024) — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  4. Shop information: EAN 4024144582730 linked to Black Velvets Vibrating Plug Small, item number 585222, product weight 0,10 kg, package dimensions 14,5 × 7,8 × 4,3 cm, total length 13,00 cm and diameter 2,70 cm: Mshop — product page — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  5. Shop information: the material broken down as ABS plastic and silicone, the surface stated as silky-smooth and smooth, the hardness stated as medium, the battery specified as 1 × AAA (LR3), insertion depth 9 cm and diameter 2,7 cm: Joyland — product page — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  6. Shop information that differs from the manufacturer’s: total length 12 cm and penetrating length 9,5 cm, minimum diameter 1,9 cm and maximum diameter 2,7 cm, five levels, 1 × AAA that is not included: Intima — product page, 5 Speed Velvet Plugg Small — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  7. Shop information that differs from the manufacturer’s: total length 12 cm, insertable length 9,5 cm, the product described as splash-proof, phthalate-free and with a pull-out string, and the hardness stated as firm: Adult — product page — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  8. Shop information: weight 125 grams, total length 13 cm, insertion length 9 cm, diameter 1,9–2,7 cm and recommended price 279 SEK: Taboo — product page, Black Velvets Anchor plug — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  9. Shop information: item number 578169, total length 13 cm, diameter 1,9–2,7 cm, five vibration modes, 1 × AAA and a two-year product guarantee: Lekosmek — product page — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  10. Store info: EAN 4024144582730, total length 13 cm, insertion depth 9 cm, diameter 1.9–2.7 cm, and the row “Waterproof: No”: Adult fun — product page — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  11. Comparison data for Fun Factory Bootie VIBE: length 95 mm, width 80 mm, height 26 mm, weight 73 g, material silicone, ABS plastic and polycarbonate, twelve vibration programs, protection rating IPX7, rechargeable via USB-C, as well as the price 31.95 euro: Fun Factory — official product page, Bootie VIBE — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  12. Comparison data for Satisfyer Plug-ilicious 1 Connect App: length 135 mm, width 68.5 mm, height 43 mm, weight 82.88 g, material ABS plastic and silicone, two separately controllable motors, lithium-ion battery, protection rating IPX7, magnetic USB charging cable, 15-year warranty, as well as the price 73.95 euro: Satisfyer — official product page, Plug-ilicious 1 Connect App — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  13. The definition of the protection classes in the IP system, including IPX7 (immersion 1 meter for 30 minutes) and IPX4 (splash protection): IEC 60529 — Degrees of protection provided by enclosures — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  14. Phthalates as plasticizers, health effects and restrictions within the EU: Kemikalieinspektionen — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  15. Three years of complaint right for defects in the item: Konsumentköplag (2022:260) (Consumer Sales Act (2022:260)) — Sweden’s Riksdag — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  16. Fourteen days’ right of withdrawal for distance purchases: Lag (2005:59) on distance contracts and contracts outside business premises — Sweden’s Riksdag — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  17. Guidance on the right of withdrawal and the exception for sealed hygiene articles: Konsumentverket — kontrollerad 29 July 2026
  18. Prices, stock status and item numbers at seven stores for EAN 4024144582730, as well as the comparison prices for Black Velvets Vibrating Plug Large (EAN 4024144582754, from 349 SEK), Fun Factory Bootie VIBE (EAN 4255821801527, from 349 SEK) and Satisfyer Plug-ilicious 1 (EAN 4061504003221, from 395 SEK). Retrieved from the stores’ own product feeds on 29 July 2026: Adtraction (channel Testkollen) and Addrevenue (channel Testra) — kontrollerad 29 July 2026

This page is machine-translated from Swedish. Read the Swedish original